Quick Guide to congressional documentsCongressional HearingsOpen Government Congressional sites
Government Documents as Primary SourcesHistorical Government Publications - Print Guides and Indexes
American FactfinderCensus of AgricultureEconomic CensusCensus of Governments
This is the "CONGRESS" page of the "Government Information - United States" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Government Information - United States   Tags: congress, congressional, data, government, government information, laws, legislation, political science  

Last Updated: Sep 15, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/usgov Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

CONGRESS Print Page
  Search: 
 

About Congressional Documents

Shields Library maintains a large collection of historical and current print, microform, and online congressional documents.  The collections include many congressional committee hearings, committee reports and documents, and the Congressional Record. With different formats the documents are not all in one place and they are not all listed in the Harvest Library Catalog.

This page has suggested resources for getting started with congressional research.

The Quick Guide subpage lists major types of congressional publications at Shields Library with the time periods and locations. 

The Open Government Congressional documents  subpage has links to mashups that build on freely available congressional data.

The Congressional Hearings subpage has a table of dates and holdings of congressional hearings in the library.

      

    About Congress & Members

    The Legislative Process

    Legislative History

    Getting Started Researching Congressional Issues

    • CQ Electronic Library  Icon
      Includes several major reference tools useful for researching congressional issues:
    • CQ Weekly  Icon
      Weekly summary tracks congressional issues.
    • CQ Researcher  Icon
      Each issue is on a different topic or theme; excellent background information for term paper research.
    • Guide to Congress  Icon
    • CQ Almanac  Icon
      Annual summary on major congressional issues and developments.
    • PAIS International Database  Icon
      Major database includes some government documents, journal articles, books, and more, related to public policy and public affairs issues.
    • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
      A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. Transcripts from major news media shows are included. Also includes U.S. and International (Canadian and EU) legal resources and it's an excellent source for business news and company reports.
    • Congress and the Nation  Icon
      Volumes cover 2001-2008 online.
    • Congressional Digest  Icon
      Congressional Digest features a current topic in each issue, with overviews, analysis, and short bibliography, useful for term papers.

    Congressional Documents Indexes

    • Thomas
      Thomas, from the Library of Congress, is a legislative information database. Search bill text by word/phrase or bill number for for current congress and previous congresses from 1989 through current. Find bill summary, legislative tracking and status from 1973 through current congress. Congressional Record 1989 to present. Roll Call Votes 1989 to present. Public Laws 1974 to present.
    • Proquest Congressional [Restricted] UCD only
      Formerly LexisNexis Congressional, Proquest Congressional Indexes congressional documents, legislative histories, regulations and congressional record. Search by bill no., keyword, etc to find bill status. UCD subscription includes full text hearings to 1980. Committee reports and documents indexed and most, not all, full text from 1990 to present. Find full text committee reports and documents 1817-1980 in the U.S. Congressional Serial Se. [Readex]
    • U.S. Congressional Serial Set [Restricted] UCD only
      full text Congressional committee reports and documents originally published in the Serial Set from the 15th through the 96th Congresses, 1817-1980. Also includes the American State Papers (a retrospective collection of materials originating from 1789 through 1838 but published in the second quarter of the 19th century). The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is the bound, sequentially numbered set of volumes of all the Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
    • FDsys  
        
      FDsys from the Government Printing Office provides free online access to official U.S. Federal government documents and information. GPO is the recognized authoritative source for government information and has authenticated the documents on FDsys. Search for official versions of government documents and publications, browse by title, collection, congressional committee, date, and download publications.
    • Harvest UCD Catalog
      Many congressional hearings and committee reports and documents are cataloged.

    Congressional Analysis & Support Agencies

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Juri Stratford
    Contact Info
    email: jtstratford@ucdavis.edu
    phone: (530) 752-9783
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip