Harvest Library Catalog - The main catalog includes government publications both current and retrospective. For more detailed finding aids, consult appropriated databases, catalogs and indexes; selected examples below.
FDsys from the Government Printing Office provides free online access to official U.S. Federal government documents and information. GPO is the recognized authoritative source for government information and has authenticated the documents on FDsys. Search for official versions of government documents and publications, browse by title, collection, congressional committee, date, and download publications.
- Catalog of Government Publications
Catalog of federal government publications from GPO. Catalog of Government Publications (CGP) contains records for U.S. government publications from 1976 to the present and includes links to online full text publications when available. Older records are slowly being added. Records for the U.S. government publications from 1976 to present are also included in the UC Davis Harvest Library Catalog or Melvyl catalogs with call no. for the UC Davis collection.
- NTRL - National Technical Reports Library (NTIS) [UCD only]
Indexes technical reports of U.S. government-sponsored technical report literature and provides links to available full text reports.
- Metalib [via GPO]
Use MetaLib's federated searching to retrieve reports, articles, and citations by simultaneously searching across fifty-three Federal Government databases with more databases to be added in the future.
- Harvest catalog
U.S. Government documents can be searched in UC Davis Libraries' Harvest Catalog.
Science.gov is a gateway to U.S. Federal science resources from 15 different federal government agencies.
Articles and general information:
- CQ Electronic Library
Includes several major reference tools useful for researching congressional issues:
- National Journal's Almanac of American Politics
Profiles members of congress. Almanac of American Politics
also in print: Latest Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference JK271 .A5
- PAIS International Database [via Proquest]
Indexes resources in the area of public affairs and public policy including journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
Coverage is from 1915 to present.
- LexisNexis Academic
A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. Transcripts from major news media shows are included. Also includes U.S. and International (Canadian and EU) legal resources and it's an excellent source for business news and company reports.
- Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]
The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. It's a good general database for articles about government, law or policy.
- Proquest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
Includes full text, and index, of U.S. congressional committee hearings from 1824-1979; and selected transcripts 1988 to present; Index to Serial Set and American State Papers 1789-1969; Index to House & Senate documents, committee prints, and hearings 1817 to present. Full text for most, not all, committee reports 1990 to current.