More Reference for Fashion, Costume and Textiles
This is the "Historical Dress & Costume" page of the "FASHION and COSTUME" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

FASHION and COSTUME   Tags: clothing, costume, fashion, textiles  

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/fashion Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Historical Dress & Costume Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Reference works on Costume and Dress

The following are selected reference books in Shields Library, Humanities, Social Sciences and Government Information Services Reference Collection.  The Reference Collection is located on the 2nd floor in Shields Library.

Berg companion to fashion /edited by Valerie Steele. Oxford ; New York : Berg, 2010.
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GT507 .E54 2010

Clothing of the Renaissance World :  Europe, Asia, Africa, the Americas : Cesare Vecellio's Habiti Antichi et Moderni /[essay and translation by] Margaret F. Rosenthal and Ann Rosalind Jones. London ; New York : Thames & Hudson, 2008
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GT509 .V42 2008

Clothing through American history :  the Civil War through the Gilded Age, 1861-1899 /Anita Stamper and Jill Condra. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2011
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GT507 .E54 2010

Clothing through American history :  the federal era through Antebellum, 1786-1860, /Ann Buermann Wass and Michelle Webb Fandrich. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood Press, c2010
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GT607 .W37 2010

Costume, 1066 to the present /John Peacock. London ; New York, N.Y. : Thames & Hudson, 2006
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GT730 .P43 2006

The dictionary of fashion history /Valerie Cumming, C.W. Cunnington and P.E. Cunnington. Oxford ; New York : Berg, 2010
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GT607 .S73 2011

Greek and Roman dress from A to Z /Liza Cleland, Glenys Davies and Lloyd Llewellyn-Jones. London ; New York : Routledge, 2007
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GT550 .C543 2007

Survey of historic costume :a history of Western dress /Phyllis G. Tortora, Keith Eubank. New York, NY : Fairchild Publications, c2010.
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GT580 .T67 2010

Greenwood encyclopedia of clothing through American history 1900 to the present /Amy T. Peterson, general editor [v. 1], Ann T. Kellogg, general editor. 2 volumes. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2008
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GT615 .G74 2008

Greenwood encyclopedia of clothing through world history /edited by Jill Condra. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c2008. 3 volumes.
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GT507 .G74 2008

Worldwide history of dress /Patricia Rieff Anawalt. New York : Thames & Hudson, 2007
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference GT511 .A539 2007

 

Berg Fashion Library

Berg Fashion Library

Explore by time or place; includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, Berg ebooks, Berg journals Fashion Practice and Fashion Theory, and Textiles, and images from museums including the Victoria & Albert Musem.

Historic Fashion in Old Fashion Magazines

Digital Library Collections

Costume in the Movies

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip