- CIA World Factbook
Background information on each country.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) is a United States government agency which monitors and translates current news and commentary from foreign political speeches, radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, and periodicals. These translations, or transcriptions in the case of English language materials, make up the Daily Reports; dates are 1941-1996. The UCD subscription includes Part 1: Middle East, Africa, Near East and South Asia (MEA, NES); Part 2: Sub-Saharan Africa & South Asia (SSA, SAF, AFR, SAS); Part 3: China (CHI); Part 4: Asia, Pacific and East Asia (APA, EAS); Part 5: Latin America (LAT, LAM); Part 6: Eastern Europe (EEU); Part 7: Soviet Union and Central Eurasia (SOV); Part 8: Western European regional broadcasts; FBIS annexes are excluded.
- Digital National Security Archive
A comprehensive set of declassified government documents. They can be searched by keyword, chronologically, or topic. Collections are available on the most important U.S. policy decisions since WWII; examples include "The Cuban Missile Crisis", the "Iran-Contra Affair".
Congressional hearings from committees such as the Senate Foreign Relations Committee and the House Foreign Affairs Committee hold hearings on a variety of topics, often related to proposed legislation or topics of current interest. FDsys, the Government Printing Office database, has full text recent congressional hearings. The published hearings are also listed in the Harvest Library Catalog.
- Homeland Security Digital Library
The HSDL is a service of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The collection includes thousands of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities. It is available to campus users.
- U.S. Congressional Hearings & Proquest Congressional
Proquest digital congressional hearings include full text of all hearings 1824 to 1980. Indexing and abstracting for all other congressional documents is included.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1980
Full text Congressional committee reports and documents originally published in the Serial Set from the 15th through the 96th Congresses, 1817-1980. Also includes the American State Papers (a retrospective collection of materials originating from 1789 through 1838 but published in the second quarter of the 19th century).
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online
U.S. Declassified Documents Online is the most comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. The collection editors have actively monitored the release of formerly classified documents from presidential libraries. They have also added numerous major releases of declassified documents from the Department of State, Department of Defense, Central Intelligence Agency, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Joint Chiefs of Staff, and other executive agencies.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers--19th and 20th Centuries Century [via ProQuest]
"The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world." This database offers the searchable full text of all House of Commons Sessional Papers from 1801-2003/04 combined with an extensive subject index to the papers. (HCPP)Includes all the "sessional papers" of the British Parliament: bills, reports of committees, papers presented by Royal Commissions and government departments, treaties and international agreements, command papers, and statistics.
It also includes the full text from "Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament," from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, from 1803 to 2005.
- Yearbook of the United Nations
Based on official UN documents, the Yearbook provides comprehensive coverage of political and security matters, human rights issues, economic and social questions, legal issues, and institutional, administrative and budgetary matters. Each of the sixty-four volumes of the Yearbook, dating back to the 1946–47 edition, includes the texts of all major General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Social Council resolutions and decisions, and places them in a narrative context of UN consideration, deliberation and action.
- United Nations Documents
Includes UN Treaty series, General Assembly, Security Council, and other bodies, as well as links to UN bodies and thematic resources such as Disarmament, Human Rights, Peace and Security and more.
- Europa; Publications and Documents
Links to EU documents, legal texts, statistics, surveys and opinion documents.