This is the "Home" page of the "Cane by Jean Toomer" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Cane by Jean Toomer  

Last Updated: Jun 7, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/cane Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

How to Use this Guide

Use this guide to find two sources for your Essay 1 Assignment: Cane Critical Essay.

Begin by considering the types of sources you would like to identify and read:

Types of Sources:Research Tool:
Books (including Encyclopedias) Harvest Catalog
Journal Articles & Book Chapters Subscription Database(s)
Websites (reputable) Commercial Search Engine(s)

 

For a comprehensive listing of scholarly search tools, visit the University Library website.

      
     

    Background Sources

    Consult these sources to learn more about Jean Toomer, his work, the Harlem Renaissance and the Modernist Movement:

    Cover Art
    African-American Writers - Valerie Smith  Icon
    ISBN: 068480638X
    Publication Date: 2001
    Excellent, comprehensive essay on Jean Toomer. See the 'Secondary Works Biographical and Critical Studies' section at the end of the essay for citations to additional sources.

    Cover Art
    Afro-American Writers from the Harlem Renaissance to 1940  Icon
    ISBN: 081031729X
    Essay includes biographical information about Toomer's life and analysis of Cane and Toomer's other works.

    Cover Art
    The Harlem Renaissance - Janet Witalec (Editor)
    Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference PS153.N5 H245 2003 [Lib Use Only]
    ISBN: 0787666181
    Publication Date: 2003
    See the entry Jean Toomer. Includes a biographical/critical introduction, a complete bibliography of the author's works and full-text reprinted criticism.

    Cover Art
    The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature - Hans Ostrom (Editor); J. David Macey (Editor)
    Call Number: Shields Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference PS153.N5 G73 2005 [Lib Use Only]
    ISBN: 0313329729
    Publication Date: 2005

    Cover Art
    The Cambridge History of African American Literature - Maryemma Graham (Editor); Jerry Washington Ward
    Call Number: Shields Library PS153.N5 G685 2011 [Regular Loan]
    ISBN: 9780521872171
    Publication Date: 2011
    The Cambridge History of African American Literature presents a comprehensive overview of the literary traditions, oral and print, of African-descended peoples in the United States.

    Cover Art
    African American Dramatists - Emmanuel S. Nelson (Editor)
    Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference PS338.N4 A446 2004 [Lib Use Only}
    ISBN: 0313322333
    Publication Date: 2004
    This reference offers thorough critical assessments of the lives and works of African American playwrights from the 19th century to the present. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and includes a biography, a discussion of major works and themes, a summary of the playwright's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies.

    Contact Me!

    Profile Image
    Melissa Browne
    Contact Info
    Shields Library
    Research Support Services
    530.754.5962
    mabrowne@ucdavis.edu
    Send Email
     

    Ask a Librarian

    In Person

    By Appointment

    Via Chat:

     

    What Do You Think?

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip