This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "Biological Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Biological Sciences  

Last Updated: Jul 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/biosci Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

Subject Specific Databases

  • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    More than 23 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
    Coverage: 1926-present
    Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews
    Online BIOSIS information
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
  • Bacteriology Abstracts [via ProQuest]  Icon
    LOWER-DIVISION Undergraduate focus -- UPPER-DIVISION Undergraduates & Researchers should use BIOSIS Previews (above) and PubMed (below under Generalilzed Databases). Covers topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals. Provides access to clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics. {RG 12/16/13}
    Coverage: 1982-present
    CSA Fact Sheet
  • Ecology Abstracts [via ProQuest]  
      
      Icon
    LOWER-DIVISION Undergraduate focus -- UPPER-DIVISION Undergraduates & Researchers should use BIOSIS Previews (under General Databases). Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
    Coverage: 1982-present
    CSA Fact Sheet
  • Zoological Record [via ProQuest]  Icon
    WILDLIFE. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies. Backfile for 1864-1977 added April 2007. {RG 12/12/13}
    Coverage: 1864-present [1864-1977 backfile added]
    Setting up Alerts
    CSA Zoological Record Fact Sheet
    CSA Zoological Record Subject Thesaurus

Generalized Databases

Electronic Book and Document Collections

  • Springer eBooks Package  Icon
    UC-wide licensed three-year (2013-2015) package for Springer eBooks and includes more than 55,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. {RG 12/11/13}
    Coverage: 2005-2014
  • CRCnetBASE [via CRC Press] (full text books)  Icon
    Full-text searchable database collection of more than 1500 handbooks, textbooks and manuals in biomedical science, chemistry, environmental sciences, food science, forensic science, math, and statistics. The full database can be searched, or any of the licensed subsets. The following SEVEN packages are subscribed by the University of California and are also listed separately under their respective Subject Guides: BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE {Newly licensed}, CHEMnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE and STATSnetBASE. {RG 12/16/13}
  • Electronic books in the Biological and Health Sciences  
      
    Author: [Compiled by the UCD Carlson Health Sciences Library]
    Subject listing of electronic books (handbooks, textbooks, guides) in basic biological and related health sciences disciplines/specialties and subdisciplines/subspecialties. Includes online books in general biology, biochemistry, endrocrinology & metabolism, genetics, microbiology & virology, molecular biology, neurology, nutrition, physiology, toxicology and veterinary medicine. All books are searchable at chapter-level.
  • UC Press eBooks Collection [via eScholarship]
    The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library's eScholarship program. About 25% of the titles are available to the general public; the rest are for University of California faculty, staff, and students only.
    Coverage: 1982-2004
  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  Icon
    Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort. {RG 12/11/13}
    Coverage: 2007-2012
    Information for New JCR Users
    Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
    Using JCR Wisely
  • Safari Tech Books Online  Icon
    A collection of computing books that includes the full text of over 300 O'Reilly Press books dating from 2004 to the present. Safari will grow to include all new O'Reilly titles, including the popular In a Nutshell books on important computing topics. The full-text is searchable across titles and searches can be limited to code fragments. Books can also be browsed by topic. Books can be read online, or individual chapter sections can be printed out or emailed. Access is limited to 28 simultaneous UC connections.
    Coverage: 2004-present.
    RSS feed of new titles in Safari

Protocols and Methods Resources

  • Current Protocols Series [Wiley]  Icon
    Ten major laboratory methods and protocols series covering the areas of molecular biology, nucleic acid chemistry, cell biology, protein science, immunology, neuroscience, human genetics, pharmacology, toxicology, and cytometry. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following seven protocol titles: "Bioinformatics", "Chemical Biology", "Essential Laboratory Techniques", "Magnetic Resonance Imaging", "Microbiology", "Mouse Biology" (new with very little content) and "Stem Cell Biology".
    Coverage: Updated quarterly or more frequently {RG 12/11/13}
  • Springer Protocols  Icon
    Springer Protocols contains more than 31,000 (as of March 2013) molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols, mostly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.
    Coverage: 1980-present {RG 12/11/13}
    Ten-page User Guide
  • Cold Spring Harbor Protocols  Icon
    A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. Coverage: 2006-present {RG 12/11/13}
    Search Help
  • Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)  Icon
    Author: MYJoVE Corporation
    Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format. {RG 12/11/13}
    June 2013: COMPLETE ACCESS to all sections (General and all subsection) now licensed
  • Methods in Enzymology [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 300 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats. {RG 12/111/13}
  • Bio-protocol
    A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community. Coverage: Jan 2011 – present.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • U*X*L Encyclopedia of Biomes  Icon
    Author: Marlene Weigel
    Online version of this 3-volume encyclopedia provides "detailed comparative essays on major biomes and their component ecosystems. Includes entries on land biomes and water biomes and covers climate, elevation, soil, water bodies, vegetation, animal life, food web, plant and animal adaptations, endangered species, human effects on the biome and the effects of the environment on humans' culture and economy." {RG 12/11/13}
  • Encyclopedia of Biodiversity [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Editor: Simon Levin
    The 2nd edition of this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. "Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity." Over 320 articles with "approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms". Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates {RG 12/11
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia [Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1: Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes; Volume 2: Protostomes; Volume 3: Insects; Volumes 4-5: both concerning Fishes; Volume 6: Amphibians; Volume 7: Reptiles; Volumes 8-11: Birds; Volumes 12-16: Mammals Volume 17: cumulative index.

    •Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.

    •Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts
  • Handbook of Global Bioethics [Springer eBook]  Icon
    Four-volume reference set. Volume 1 has four sections including the introduction, principles of global bioethics, cultural perspectives and religious perspectives. Volume 2 is comprised of two sections: Specific issues from a global perspective (such as biobanking, genetic modification); and future perspectives. Volume 3 is entirely arranged by Countries and Regions from Argentina to Lithuania with Volume 4 concluding from Malawi to the USA. {RG 12/16/13}
  • Dictionary of Scientific Biography (complete) [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This "complete" online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.

Handbooks and Tables

  • Zoology Online  Icon
    Author: Editor-in-Chief: Schmidt-Rhaesa, Andreas
    RESEARCH level handbook with GERMAN as first language. Online continuously updated version of De Gruyter's Handbook of Zoology covering over 100 years of zoological research. Includes original Handbook material (> 28,000 pages) reordered along taxonomic (instead of bibliographical) categories. {RG 12/13/13}

    PLEASE NOTE: publication language of the core historical volumes is German. ENGLISH language sections are currently under the Browseable section "Ahead of Print" but are slowly being integrated into the main volumes below.

    Browseable volumes are organized in 8 larger volume collections as follows:

    •Protozoa, Porifera, Colenteratea, Mesozoa (Vol. 1)
    •Vermes Amera (Vol. 2)
    •Arthropoda ex. Insecta (Vol. 3)
    •Arthropoda: Insecta (Vol. 4)
    •Solenogastres, Mollusca, Echinoderma (Vol. 5)
    •Pisces/Amphibia (Vol. 6)
    •Reptilia, Aves (Vol. 7)
    •Mammalia (Vol. 8)

Images

  • BIODIDAC: A bank of digital resources for teaching biology
    More than 6780 items are arranged in categories of: Eubacteria, Protista , Fungi, Plantae, Animalia, Human Biology, and Histology. In addition to images, video and animations are also included.
    USE INFORMATION from the website: "Copying the material, modifying and adapting it to meet the professor's needs, and subsequent distribution to students is permitted with the condition that this is noncommercial, that the supplier (BIODIDAC) of the material is acknowledged, and that its use is registered."
    NOTE: Some items only described in French. {RG 12/13/13}
    Coverage: 1996-2001
  • Open-i
    Author: National Library of Medicine
    This open-access biomedical image search engine in is Beta test but has good retrievals for most major biomedical topics. Open-i helps "users retrieve not only the MEDLINE citation information, but also the outcome statements in the article and the most relevant figure from it. Further, it is possible to use the figure as a query component to find other relevant images or other visually similar images." {RG 12/16/13}
  • AP Images [via EBSCO]  Icon
    This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.
    Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip