Portal with a list of core links to key resources for ethnographically-based studies of culture.
UC Davis libraries' guide to Native American Studies. In process.
- Anthropology Plus [via EBSCO]
Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Date: Late 19th century to present
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World
Comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages; currently contains over 7,000 profiles. Data reported include official and alternate names, geographical distribution, approximate number of speakers, language-family affiliation, script(s) used for writing, bibliographies, in some cases color maps, and status indicators ("e.g. "national," "developing," "threatened," "extinct." among others).
- eHRAF World Cultures
Formerly known as the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography, this is a unique cross-cultural database with full-text primary source material from 1949 to the present, totaling nearly one million pages of information on over 365 cultures, past and present.
- eHRAF Archaeology
Subscription cancelled in budget-cutting operation.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts [via Proquest]
"CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations."
Related: Fact SheetHelp
- Anthropological Review Database ( ARD )
This review database for anthropology contains fulltext reviews of anthropology related literature and media. It also contains citations to reviews published in anthropology journals.
Indexes and, in some cases, links to fulltext versions of materials (some open access, others accessible to subscribers only) by and about UC Berkeley anthropologists. Publication date coverage from 1896.