This is the "For Faculty & Staff" page of the "Archives & Institutional Assets Program" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Archives & Institutional Assets Program  

The goal of the Archives and Institutional Assets Program (AIAP) is to make UC Davis researcher-created content more accessible, more impactful, and better preserved.
Last Updated: Feb 1, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/aiap Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

For Faculty & Staff Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview

The Archives and Institutional Assets Program collects content created by UC Davis constituents in the course of research, teaching, patient care, and community/university/professional service. There is a special emphasis in the program on collecting materials related to works and initiatives through which you have had the greatest impact—whether on students, on patients, on your discipline or field of research, on the university, on the community, or on the world.

Traditionally referred to as “faculty papers,” the AIAP will work with faculty, researchers, and staff—including emeriti and retired academic staff—to identify content in any format that best fits the profile for transfer to the archives. Collectively, this material provides a rich resource of university history in addition to documenting and highlighting the careers of individuals.

Interested researchers will access your "papers" and assets through the Special Collections department of the University Library, where they are administered and made available as manuscript collections.

 

What do we collect?

All of the following types of content are potential candidates for transfer to the archive. We accept both digital (electronic) formats and physical (print or analog) formats. Content must be devoid of sensitive information that would prevent the item form being accessed on legal or ethical grounds.

* Correspondence, including both paper and electronic mail

* Grant proposals and reports

* Lab notebooks, field notes, and other research notes

* Research datasets, transcripts, or related (see also Data Management Program)

* Drafts of significant publications

* Speeches and lectures

* Significant items, such as visual aids or important slide sets, used in teaching

* Course syllabi

* Administrative records of department chairs

* Records of committees for which the faculty member chaired or played a major role

* Policy documents

* Significant records of local, state, national, or international service or activity

* Images (photographs, slides, negatives, digital files)

* Moving image or audio recordings and other media (usually non-commercial)

* Websites or blogs that the faculty member administers

* Other biographical materials, including scrapbooks

 

Materials generally NOT collected

In general, AIAP does not collect the following:

* Student records

* Patient files

* Reprints

* Duplicative or redundant material

* Artifacts, objects, plaques (with some exceptions)                

* Books, journals, and other published materials (please contact Collection Strategies regarding the donation of published materials to the Library: libcollections@ucdavis.edu)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip