This is the "INTRODUCTION" page of the "WMS187 Gender and Social Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

WMS187 Gender and Social Policy  

Last Updated: Jul 13, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/WMS187 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

INTRODUCTION Print Page
  Search: 
 

Social Policy Introduction

Find out about the background of an issue by reading about it or viewing media sources to see how the idea lead to government policy.  Newspapers and other news sources, journals and magazines, scholarly articles, government reports can all report on an issue, event, idea, or perceived need for change that results in a governmental policy. 

Congressional documents form the legislative process of a bill from introduction to final public law.  Tracking the legislation to find congressional hearings with testimony from various sources provides background information about the legislation.  Finally, regulations drafted by Federal agencies implement the law.

      

    Sources for General Background Information

    • Academic Search Complete  Icon
      This is a multidisciplinary database with articles from a wide variety of journals.
    • CQ Electronic Library  Icon
      Includes several major reference tools useful for researching congressional issues. CQ Weekly, and CQ Almanac provide summaries of issues before congress. CQ Researcher has in-depth reports on topics.
    • Harvest catalog
      Harvest is the basic catalog for books, journal titles and other materials the library.
    • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
      A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. Transcripts from major news media shows are included. Also includes U.S. and International (Canadian and EU) legal resources and it's an excellent source for business news and company reports.
    • PAIS International Database  
        
        Icon
      Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
      Coverage is from 1915 to present.

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Juri Stratford
    Contact Info
    email: jtstratford@ucdavis.edu
    phone: (530) 752-9783
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip