This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "WFC 154: Conservation Biology | Fall 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

WFC 154: Conservation Biology | Fall 2016  

Last Updated: Sep 29, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/WFC154 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Make an Appointment
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

Research Help

  • Library Research Aids: How Do I...? Guides
    These guides include Choose a Research Topic, 5 Steps to Better Library Research, Find a Book, and more.
  • BioAg Consultation Desk [CLOSED DOWN as of Jan 2015]
    The BioAg Reference Desk located on the 3rd Floor of Shields Library is closed down. BioAgEnvi sciences librarians are still located on the 3rd floor of Shields in Room 388 at lower left of this floor map. Options to seek assistance now are:
    1) book an appointment with your librarian instructor
    OR
    3) email your subject specialist librarian directly
    OR
    4) email the list of all BioAgEnvi sciences librarians at lib-bioagquestions@ad3.ucdavis.edu

U.S. Government Species Endangered Lists

International Biodiversity Status Listings

  • Species under CITES Protection
    Author: Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora

    CITES (the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) is an international agreement between governments. Its aim is to ensure that international trade in specimens of wild animals and plants does not threaten their survival.

    Roughly 5,000 species of animals and 28,000 species of plants are protected by CITES against over-exploitation through international trade. They are listed in the three CITES Appendices. The species are grouped in the Appendices according to how threatened they are by international trade. They include some whole groups, such as primates, cetaceans (whales, dolphins and porpoises), sea turtles, parrots, corals, cacti and orchids. But in some cases only a subspecies or geographically separate population of a species (for example the population of just one country) is listed.
  • IUCN Red List of Threatened Species  
      
    Author: International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) was founded in 1948 as world’s first global environmental organization and is the largest professional global conservation network. Over four decades ago, the Red List started as the IUCN Red Data Book and is currently compiled through the IUCN Species Programme working with the IUCN Species Survival Commission (SSC). "IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants and animals that have been globally evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria. This system is designed to determine the relative risk of extinction, and the main purpose of the IUCN Red List is to catalog and highlight those plants and animals that are facing a higher risk of global extinction (i.e. those listed as Critically Endangered, Endangered and Vulnerable)." "IUCN Red List also includes information on plants and animals that are categorized as Extinct.
  • IUCN Species Action Plans  
      
    The IUCN SSC Action Plan series assesses the conservation status of species and their habitats, and outlines conservation priorities. Compiled by SSC’s Specialist Groups, they are one of the world’s most authoritative sources of species-related conservation information available to natural resource managers, conservationists and decision makers around the world.

    Globally recognised reference on the conservation status and conservation priorities for the world's species. Search by species group: Amphibians; Birds; Fish; Invertebrates; Mammals; Plants; and Reptiles .

    Note additional publications on the left bar:
  • World Conservation Monitoring Centre (WCMP) | UNEP
    Initial webpage will request dashboard according to geographic locale of interest.

    "UNEP-WCMC is the specialist biodiversity assessment arm of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) based in Cambridge, UK. UNEP works to encourage sustainable development through sound environmental practices, and has an extensive portfolio of activities around biodiversity. To help deliver these, it collaborates with WCMC, a not-for-profit organization with staff that includes dozens of specialists in the fields of biodiversity and ecosystem services, as well as social science, economics, law and information technology."
  • World Resources Institute (WRI)
    "WRI is a global research organization that spans more than 50 countries, with offices in the United States, China, India, Brazil, Indonesia and more. Our more than 450 experts and staff work closely with leaders to turn big ideas into action to sustain our natural resources—the foundation of economic opportunity and human well-being."

Wildlife Publications Collections | UCD University Library

Wildlife publications are found in two areas at Shields Library: The Biological & Agricultural Sciences (3rd Floor) and Government Information (Lower Level) collections. In addition, the Carlson Health Sciences Library holds veterinary-related titles pertaining to wildlife.

  • Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences, Shields Library
    The BioAgEnvi Sciences print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library. Some collections in the environmental sciences are located on the 2nd floor in the G classification areas.
  • Government Information Collection [UC Davis]  
      
    The UC Davis Library is a federal and state depository library with extensive historical and current collections in print, microform and electronic formats. We collect extensively from major international, intergovernmental organizations, selectively from local jurisdictions, and on a very limited basis from foreign governments. Agriculture, forestry, the environment and ecology are areas of strength. We collect comprehensively from the U.S. Congress and California Legislature, along with federal and state laws and regulations. The Library's collection of technical report literature is extensive. We emphasize statistical data in all collecting areas. Most government documents and maps are listed in the Harvest UC Davis Library Catalog and the UC-wide MELVYL Catalog. Some materials, such as technical reports and historical documents, may require specialized indexes or assistance from government information librarians.
  • Carlson Health Sciences Library Collection  
      
    The Carlson Health Sciences Library is near the SouthWest corner of the UC Davis campus and houses the UCD Library Veterinary Medicine collection. (Only such collection in the UC library system.)

Library Catalogs

Most PRINT animal-related materials will be found under the general Zoology classification with call numbers starting with QL or rarely SK.  Most PRINT plant-related materials will be found in the general Botany classification with call numbers beginning with QK.

NOTE:  If PRINT materials are government documents and begin with DOC before the documents number, these are NOT located on the open shelves/stacks in Shields Library but are located in a closed Government Documents area on Shields Library Lower Level.  Stop by the Shields Library Circulation Desk to have these items retrieved for you and you will be able to check them out for your regular loan period (4 weeks for undergraduates).

  • UC Davis Library Catalog  
      
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

Document Library | CA Dept Fish & Wildlife

  • Document Library [California Department of Fish and Wildlife]
    The California Department of Fish & Wildlife (DFW) Document Library is an online repository of thousands of DFG related documents from California agencies, contractors, and related non-governmental organizations. In addition to advanced searching for title, author, subject, keywords, and date ranges, all documents in the DFG Document Library are organized by Categories. "Browse By Category" is a convenient way to see all available groupings and learn which DFG function or program is responsible for each category. You may also view a complete list of DFG documents and then link directly to that program's web page. The majority of documents digitized are from the 2000s with the largest collection of documents on "California Wildlife Habitat Relationships". NOTE: CA DFG (Department of Fish and Game) changed to CA DFW (Department of Fish and Wildlife) in January 2013. {RG 12/11/13}

Journal Ranking

Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines. Look under "Ecology" subject category for Conservation Biology titles; look under "Zoology" subject category for Wildlife titles; look under "Marine & Freshwater Biology" for aquatic titles.

NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution.

  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  
      
      Icon
    Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
    Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
    Information for New JCR Users
    Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
    Using JCR

Peer-Reviewed Journal Databases

Most ProQuest databases (such as Zoological Record, Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management or PsycINFO) separate result sets into tabbed categories including "Peer-Reviewed" journals or "Scholarly" journals. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black/white striped "referee" shirt symbol indicating the publication is "Refereed".

  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory  
      
      Icon
    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich's provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

Evaluate Your Sources

Accuracy
Does the author cite references to support her/his thesis? Are the references also from credible sources?
 
Author
Who produced the information? What can you find about the author's credentials?
 
Objectivity
Is the content presented as fact or speculation? What is the source's purpose?
 
Timeframe
When was the source written/created? Is the information still relevant?
      

    Subject Guides

    There is a subject guide for nearly every department or section on the UC Davis campus. Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!
    • Subject Guides
      Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search for information on your topic.

    Databases

    • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
        
        Icon
      More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
      Coverage: 1926-present
      Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews, 2010
      Online BIOSIS information
      Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
    • Zoological Record [via ProQuest]  
        
        Icon
      WILDLIFE. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies. Backfile for 1864-1977 added April 2007.
      Coverage: 1864-present [1864-1977 backfile added]
      Setting up Alerts
      Zoological Record's 150th anniversary
      Zoological Record information
    • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) [via ProQuest]  
        
        Icon
      UCD's *most* important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
      Coverage: varies by subfile; 1971-present;earlier for selected core titles
      ASFA Lib Guide [ProQuest]
      Setting up Alerts
    • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM) [via ProQuest]  
        
        Icon
      This database has been replaced by Agricultural & Environmental Science Database from ProQuest.
    • PsycINFO [via Proquest]  
        
        Icon
      PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.
      Coverage: 1840-present
      PsycINFO Lib Guide [ProQuest]
      Setting up Alerts
    • National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)  Icon
      NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). NTRL indexes government-sponsored research, development and technical reports and provides full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 2 million reports with links to over 500,000 full-text reports. Our academic subscription provides access to "Digital-on-demand", which will digitizes reports not currently full-text that UCD users find in the NTRL database.

      Coverage: 1964-present
    • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide [via EBSCO]  Icon
      Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Database producer from South Africa with excellent coverage of African publications. {RG 12/12/13}
      Coverage: 1935 (& earlier)-present
      Saving Search and Alerting Functions (Guide) Click on Document Download link to obtain the 17-page MS Word document

    UC-eLinks

    • UC-eLinks
      Brought to you by UC libraries! UC-eLinks helps to link you to *choices* to find the item(s) you are interested in. UC-eLinks appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of getting to online articles (if licensed) or to information about which print issues of a journal we own. If we do not own a journal or book, you can use the UC-eLinks service to Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library -- often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

    EndNote

    • EndNote Instructional Webpage
      Author: UC Davis Libraries

      EndNote, licensed for all UCD full-time students, faculty, researchers and staff, is a bibliographic reference manager which enables citations to be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals.
    • EndNote Intro for BioAgEnvi Sciences Researchers [Course Guide]  
        
      Author: Ruth Gustafson

      This webpage is the step-by-step guide for the bi-monthly in-person EndNote Intro course taught in Shields Library.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip