Librarian Subject Specialist
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Shields Library, 3rd Floor
Phone: (530) 752‑1883
UWP 104F: Writing in the Professions: Health | Table of Contents
TABLE OF CONTENTS (Click on blue links to jump to each section)
Topic Ideas & Search Terms
Good sources for finding recent research in all sciences, where you might find interesting topics, are the weekly magazines SCIENCE NEWS and NEW SCIENTIST. In addition, the premier journals SCIENCE and NATURE include the latest top research. Premier medical journals include JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association), NEJM (New England Journal of Medicine), Lancet, BMJ (British Medical Journal), Nature Medicine, and PLoS Medicine.
Once you've picked a topic, you will need to think of search terms to use for locating articles and other publications. Harvest, the UC Davis Library online catalog, uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) and also (for books owned at the medical libraries) the National Library of Medicine (NLM) terms. Each library subject database also has subject lists/thesauri that can help you precisely search your topic, e.g PubMed has MeSH and BIOSIS Previews has Concept Codes and more.
Life And Health Sciences Collections
The UC Davis campus has 2 separate health sciences libraries and one life sciences department in the Shields Library (Biological & Agricultural Sciences). Important health sciences information may also be found as part of the Government Information collection of Shields Library, Lower Level. Veterinary information is located at the Carlson Health Sciences Library.
The UCD Libraries selectively buy materials on writing in the life and health sciences. Browsable subject headings that bring up these types of publications include: Biology -- Authorship; Communication of technical information; Life sciences -- Authorship; Medical writing; Report writing; Technical writing
NOTE: Selected current books on life sciences writing may be found in the BioAg Reference collection, 3rd floor Shields. These are marked for LIBRARY USE ONLY but this guarantees that you will be able to find and use them as they can not be checked out!
There is a subject guide matching nearly every department on the UC Davis campus. Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!
Peer-Reviewed Journal Databases
A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality -- by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor -- before being accepted for publication.
Most ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO and PAIS) include a checkbox to limit to "Peer Reviewed" articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to locate your journal. To the left of your title, look for a vertical black/white symbol depicting a referee jersey/shirt and thus noting the publication is "Refereed" or peer-reviewed.
CDL Online Database Guides
Health Statistics Resources
Statistical Insight is a database which indexes the statistical literature from international, federal and state and local resources. The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a premier conglomeration of actual data tables from 100s of government agencies. FEDStats leads to U.S. govt core statistical publications such as the CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report; Health, United States, etc.
Health Professional Career & Education Information
Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties.
NOTE that *review* journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution. Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in ... ; Annual Review of ...; Critical Reviews in ... ; Current Opinion in ... ; Expert Reviews in ... ; International Review of ... ; Progress in ... ; Trends in ...