This is the "Key Resources" page of the "UWP 102H: Writing in the Disciplines: Human Development and Psychology | Winter 2017" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

UWP 102H: Writing in the Disciplines: Human Development and Psychology | Winter 2017  

Last Updated: Jan 29, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/UWP102H Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Key Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Contact Me!

Profile Image
Melissa Browne
Contact Info
Shields Library
Research Support Services
530.754.5962
mabrowne@ucdavis.edu
Send Email

Research Help

What is Peer-Review?

Peer Review

A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality -- by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor -- before being accepted for publication.

Some databases, e.g. PsycINFO, include a checkbox to limit to "Peer Reviewed" articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to determine if a journal includes peer-reviewed articles.

  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory  
      
      Icon
    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual. Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title.
 

Get Started

Use this guide to identify sources for your Case Studies and Research Reports

 


For a comprehensive listing of scholarly search tools, visit the University Library website.

 

Begin by considering your Research Framework: 

 

1. Topic: What have you found in your preliminary research? What question(s) do you have after your interview?

 

2. Sources: Which types of publications might be helpful to find and read?

Types of Sources:Research Tool:
Books Library Search
Journal, Magazine, Newspaper Articles & Book Chapters Subscription Database(s)
Websites (e.g. statistics, government documents/reports) Commercial Search Engine(s)

 

3. Search: What has been published in credible sources?


4. Analyze/Refine: It's typical to revise your search strategies and your perspective as you work your way through the research process.

    Behavioral and Medical Conditions

    • National Institute of Mental Health: Health Topics
      Browse expert-reviewed information on mental disorders and health topics. Locate basic information on signs and symptoms, risk factors, treatment, and links to additional resources.
    • PsychiatryOnline (including the DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)  Icon
      PsychiatryOnline provides access to publications from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the DSM® Library titles (including DSM-5), their set of psychiatry journals, their textbooks in psychiatry, the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the treatment of psychiatric disorders and more.
    • MedlinePlus: Health Topics
      Produced by the National Library of Medicine for the National Institutes of Health. Browse 'Mental Health and Behavior' topics and health information compiled by DEMOGRAPHIC GROUPS.

    Article Databases

     
    • PsycINFO [via Proquest]  
        
        Icon
      PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.
      Coverage: 1840-present
      PsycINFO Lib Guide [ProQuest]
      Setting up Alerts
    • PubMed  
        
        Icon
      More than 26 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform.
      Coverage: 1946-present
      PubMed Tutorial & more
      Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
      NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
      NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]
    • ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [via Proquest]  Icon
      The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports.
    • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
        
        Icon
      More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
      Coverage: 1926-present
      Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews, 2010
      Online BIOSIS information
      Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
    • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts [via Proquest]  Icon
      "CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations."

      Coverage: 1973-present
      Related: Fact Sheet
      Help
    • Communication Abstracts [via EBSCO]  Icon
      Containing over 235,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.

      Coverage: 1978-present
      Related: Communication Abstracts
      HUM & SOC SCI REF P87 C58
      Print edition of Communication Abstracts.
    • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) [via Ovid]  
        
        Icon
      NOTE: There are a limited number of simultaneous users >> please LOGOFF when finished. HAPI is an index to journal articles and other sources about measurement tools used in in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI includes citations to questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests. It is an excellent source for locating or reviewing health and psychosocial measurement instruments.
      Coverage: 1985 to date, with many earlier measures
      Database Guide
      Saved Searches/Alerts/Automatic Updating Service
    • Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]  
        
        Icon
      The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

    • SUBJECT GUIDES
      Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search for information on your topic.

    Books and E-books

    • UC Davis Library Catalog  
        
      The new catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis Libraries (it does not include the holdings of the Law Library). If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.
    • See Understanding the Call Numbers to learn how books in the library are arranged.

    • TIP: To search for books about writing, try these subject terms: Communication of psychology; Psychology -- Authorship; Report writing; Social sciences -- Authorship; Technical writing


  • PsychiatryOnline (including the DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)  Icon
    PsychiatryOnline provides access to publications from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the DSM® Library titles (including DSM-5), their set of psychiatry journals, their textbooks in psychiatry, the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the treatment of psychiatric disorders and more.
  • Sage Research Methods  Icon
    SAGE Research Methods (SRM) is an online collection of books and other full-text materials that provide authoritative information on how to perform hundreds of research methods.
  • Electronic books in the Biological and Health Sciences  
      
    Author: [Compiled by the UCD Carlson Health Sciences Library]
    Subject listing of electronic books (handbooks, textbooks, guides) in basic biological and related health sciences disciplines/specialties and subdisciplines/subspecialties. Includes online books in general biology, biochemistry, endrocrinology & metabolism, genetics, microbiology & virology, molecular biology, neurology, nutrition, physiology, toxicology and veterinary medicine. All books are searchable at chapter-level.
  • Springer eBooks Package  
      
      Icon
    Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. Coverage: 2005-2017
  • Psychology and Human Development Collections

    UC Davis collections in psychology (BF call number) and human development (BF or HM or HQ or LB or RJ or QP) are located in Shields Library. Psychological or human development information may also be found as part of the Government Information collection of Shields Library, Lower Level.  Pediatric information in print may be located at the Carlson Health Sciences Library or Blaisdell Medical Library (UCD Medical Center).

    • Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences, Shields Library
      The BioAgEnvi Sciences print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library. Some collections in the environmental sciences are located on the 2nd floor in the G classification areas.
    • Health Sciences Libraries Collections
      The Carlson Health Sciences Library is near the SouthWest corner of the UC Davis campus and the Blaisdell Medical Library is in Sacramento at the UCD Medical Center.
    • Government Information Collection [UC Davis]  
        
      The UC Davis Library collects extensively from major international, intergovernmental organizations, selectively from local jurisdictions, and on a very limited basis from foreign governments. We collect comprehensively from the U.S. Congress and California Legislature, along with federal and state laws and regulations. The Library's collection of technical report literature is extensive. We emphasize statistical data in all collecting areas.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip