This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "UWP 102G: Writing in the Environmental Sciences | Spring 2015" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

UWP 102G: Writing in the Environmental Sciences | Spring 2015  

Last Updated: Aug 23, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/UWP102G Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Make an Appointment
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

UWP 102G: Writing in the Environmental Sciences | Table of Contents

Research Help

Library Classes

Science Library Collections

The UC Davis campus has 3 separate science libraries (two health-related) and one science department in the Shields Library. Important science information, including maps, is also found as part of the Government Information Collections of Shields Library, Lower Level. Environmental health information may be found at the Health Sciences libraries but the environmental toxicology collections are mainly found in the Shields BioAg collections, 3rd floor Shields.

  • Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences, Shields Library
    The BioAgEnvi Sciences print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library. Some collections in the environmental sciences are located on the 2nd floor in the G classification areas.
  • Government Information Collection [UC Davis]  
      
    The UC Davis Library is a federal and state depository library with extensive historical and current collections in print, microform and electronic formats. We collect extensively from major international, intergovernmental organizations, selectively from local jurisdictions, and on a very limited basis from foreign governments. Agriculture, forestry, the environment and ecology are areas of strength. We collect comprehensively from the U.S. Congress and California Legislature, along with federal and state laws and regulations. The Library's collection of technical report literature is extensive. We emphasize statistical data in all collecting areas. Most government documents and maps are listed in the Harvest UC Davis Library Catalog and the UC-wide MELVYL Catalog. Some materials, such as technical reports and historical documents, may require specialized indexes or assistance from government information librarians.
  • Physical Sciences & Engineering Library
    The Physical Sciences & Engineering Library is located near the Chemistry and Physics/Geology building, just NorthWest of Mrak Hall.
    Date: Monday-Friday 1-5pm Phone: 530-752-5511
  • Health Sciences Libraries Collections
    The Carlson Health Sciences Library is near the SouthWest corner of the UC Davis campus and the Blaisdell Medical Library is in Sacramento at the UCD Medical Center.

Library Catalogs

The UCD Libraries selectively buy materials on writing in the sciences and more specifically, environmental sciences. Browsable subject headings that bring up these types of publications include: Communication in the environmental sciences; Environmental literature -- Authorship ; Ecology -- Authorship; Natural history literature -- Authorship; Communication of technical information; Proposal writing in research ; Report writing ; Scientific illustration ; Technical writing ; Visual communication in science

  • UC Davis Library Catalog  
      
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.
  • Understanding the Call Numbers PDF
    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM -- National Library of Medicine -- classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with the following guide.

    Date: 2004

E-Book Collections

  • ENVIROnetBASE [via CRCnetBASE]  Icon
    This full-text ENVIROnetBASE collection includes over 600 environmental sciences handbooks and includes indexing of chapters and their figures, charts, tables, illustrations, formulas and rules of thumb. Environmental sciences areas covered include environmental engineering and biotechnology, agricultural and natural resources, ecology, pollution and more. {RG 12/11/13}
    ENVIROnetBASE scope
  • Springer eBooks Package  
      
      Icon
    Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. Coverage: 2005-2017
  • Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection  
      
      Icon
    NOTE: Interface does not separate ebooks from Wiley ejournals.

    Over 2,000 books with 2011-2016 publication dates. The Wiley ebook license comes with broad and favorable rights for scien ptific, scholarly and educational uses. The collection serves wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Wiley collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. The 2015 books continue to be added to the collection throughout the year as they are published simultaneously in both online and print.
    Coverage: 2011-2016

Subject Guides

There is a subject guide for nearly every department or section on the UC Davis campus. Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!

  • Subject Guides
    Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search for information on your topic.

Databases

Environmental Sciences is the most interdisciplinary of all science areas. Databases listed below index publications on topics as diverse as environmental impact studies, pollution, policy, environmental biology, environmental engineering (including green technology), government environmental reports, environmental law, and federal environmental review and policy.

Tracking a UCD Expert down? In addition to searching by author name in the databases below, you can look generally for a UCD expert, say who does research with the impact of climate change on birds. In BIOSIS or CAB Abstracts or Zoological Record, you should do a taxonomic search using the database thesaurus for taxonomic terms (you may need to use BIRDS or AVES ...). Then you can add the phrase "climate change" or the appropriate subject phrase AND cross this with either an ADDRESS or INSTITUTION field search specifying the researcher is from UCD. Best search in this type of field is by zip code, 95616 but ask your subject librarian for additional tips! Be aware that some of the UCD authors found might be post-doc researchers or graduate students -- you can check their names against the UCD campus online directory.

  • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM) [via ProQuest]  
      
      Icon
    This database has been replaced by Agricultural & Environmental Science Database from ProQuest.
  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) [via ProQuest]  
      
      Icon
    UCD's *most* important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
    Coverage: varies by subfile; 1971-present;earlier for selected core titles
    ASFA Lib Guide [ProQuest]
    Setting up Alerts
  • GeoRef [via ProQuest]  Icon
    Covers worldwide technical literature on geology, paleontology, and geophysics. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to present and geology outside of North America from 1933 to present. Also includes GeoRef In Process database and Earth Sciences Deep Indexing. {RG 12/17/13}
    Coverage: 1785-present
    GeoRef Lib Guide [ProQuest]
    Setting up Alerts
    CSA Fact Sheet
  • PAIS International Database [via Proquest]  Icon
    Indexes resources in the area of public affairs and public policy including journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
    Coverage is from 1915 to present.
  • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
    Coverage: 1926-present
    Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews, 2010
    Online BIOSIS information
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
  • Compendex [via Engineering Village 2]  Icon
    Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records. Coverage: 1884 - present. {Added by RG 12/17/13}
    Saved Searches and Creating Email Alerts Scroll down on Left column to "Creating an email alert"
  • National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)  Icon
    NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). NTRL indexes government-sponsored research, development and technical reports and provides full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 2 million reports with links to over 500,000 full-text reports. Our academic subscription provides access to "Digital-on-demand", which will digitizes reports not currently full-text that UCD users find in the NTRL database.

    Coverage: 1964-present
  • CQ Press Library/Political Reference Suite  
      
      Icon
    Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Electronic Library includes many resources for the study of current and historical congressional and American government issues. The CQ Researcher is an invaluable source of background information on topical issues since 1923. The Global Researcher is similar to CQ Researcher but with an international orientation. CQ Weekly Report, available starting in 1983, reports in depth on congressional activities and political developments.

    Also included is the Politics in America, with information about members of congress and their districts. Additional online books are excellent references about U.S. politics, voting, congress and government.
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
    A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. Transcripts from major news media shows are included. Also includes U.S. and International (Canadian and EU) legal resources and it's an excellent source for business news and company reports.
  • Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]  
      
      Icon
    The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

UC-eLinks

  • UC-eLinks
    Brought to you by UC libraries! UC-eLinks helps to link you to *choices* to find the item(s) you are interested in. UC-eLinks appears in most library literature or subject databases and provides a consistent way of getting to online articles (if licensed) or to information about which print issues of a journal we own. If we do not own a journal or book, you can use the UC-eLinks service to Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library -- often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

Citation Guides & EndNote

  • Citation Guides
    Author: University Library

    Library guide describing what a publication citation is and providing information on the most common disciplinary styles -- MLA, APA, Chicago, CSE and more.
  • EndNote Instructional Webpage
    Author: UC Davis Libraries

    EndNote, licensed for all UCD full-time students, faculty, researchers and staff, is a bibliographic reference manager which enables citations to be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals.
  • EndNote Intro for BioAg Researchers
    Author: Ruth Gustafson

    This webpage is the step-by-step guide for the monthly in-person EndNote Intro course taught in Shields Library.

Peer-Reviewed Journal Databases

Peer Review

ProQuest article databases (such as ESPM and PAIS) include a checkbox to limit to "Peer Reviewed" articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black symbol indicating the publication is "Refereed".

  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory  Icon
    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

Journal Ranking

Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties. NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution.

  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  
      
      Icon
    Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
    Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
    Information for New JCR Users
    Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
    Using JCR
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip