This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "SAS 98: Science and Society: Career Discovery Group " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

SAS 98: Science and Society: Career Discovery Group  

Last Updated: Aug 23, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/SAS98 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Make an Appointment
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

SAS 98: Science and Society: Career Discovery Group | Table of Contents

Handbooks

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook [Bureau of Labor Statistics]
    "The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 334 occupational profiles covering about 84 percent of the jobs in the economy.

    The OOH is broken up into clusters of similar occupations ... to find an occupation, browse the occupation groups ... on the left-hand side of the homepage, or use the A-Z Index if you know the specific occupation. [Also] ... search for occupations by using the selector drop-down menus on the OOH homepage. Select by pay range, entry-level education, on-the-job training, projected number of new jobs, or projected growth rate. [For a] ... specific occupation you are interested in, you may enter a job title into the “Search Handbook” box at the top."
    OOH FAQs
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook PDF  
      
    Author: U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics

    The classic handbook on a broad variety of U.S. jobs. For each major job classification OOH includes: Significant bullet points; the Nature of the work (including work environment); Training, Other Qualifications, and Advancement; Employment; Job Outlook; Earnings; Related Occupations; and linked Sources of Additional Information. New handbook comes out every other two year. Consult the Occupational Outlook Quarterly (OOQ) for more up-to-date articles between OOH publication (see Related link below).

    Date: 2012-2013

Library Catalogs

There are three major subject heading approaches to finding career information.

1) There are general subject headings you can BROWSE such as "career choice" or "vocational guidance" which pick up general interdisciplinary resources.

2) You may also BROWSE by a discipline and look for the subheading "vocational guidance" e.g. agriculture -- vocational guidance ; ecology -- vocational guidance ; environmental sciences -- vocational guidance ; medicine -- vocational guidance ; psychology -- vocational guidance ; science -- vocational guidance ; veterinary medicine -- vocational guidance . 

3) For some areas you can combine subject keywords such as, for animal-related careers  KEYWORD Subject Words "animal vocational" which brings up a variety of titles.

  • UC Davis Library Catalog  
      
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.
  • Library of Congress Classification Outline  
      
    Subject organization of the Library of Congress Call number system used in the Library.
  • Understanding the Call Numbers PDF
    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM -- National Library of Medicine -- classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with the following guide.

    Date: 2004

Subject Guides

There is a subject guide for nearly every department on the UC Davis campus. Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major! Each subject guide lists the name(s) of the librarian(s) who buy(s) library materials in the respective subject. Feel free to email your Subject Specialist Librarian for help with reference questions and finding literature in that subject area.

  • Subject Guides
    Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search for information on your topic.

UC-eLinks

  • UC-eLinks
    Brought to you by UC libraries! UC-eLinks helps to link you to *choices* to find the item(s) you are interested in. UC-eLinks appears in most library literature or subject databases and provides a consistent way of getting to online articles (if licensed) or to information about which print issues of a journal we own. If we do not own a journal or book, you can use the UC-eLinks service to Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library -- often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

Databases, General

The Academic Search Complete database indexes magazines, a great source for general articles about careers in different fields. Web of Science indexes nearly exclusively peer-reviewed journals but many may be published by professional societies or associations.

Databases, Subject Specific

All professions have international, national, state and often local societies or organizations which support the goals and professional educational needs of their members, for example the American Fisheries Society, the American Phytopathological Society, the Ecological Society of America. These societies or associations will often have their own publications with many of these societies publishing both research/scholarly journals and their own society magazine and/or newsletters. Their magazine and/or newsletter is a great resource for: current issues in the profession; articles about the state of the profession; what new careers are evolving in their profession; as well as a source of position advertisements.

Journal Ranking

Exploring which journals are most important in various disciplines? Use Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports which is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties. NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution.

  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  
      
      Icon
    Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
    Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
    Information for New JCR Users
    Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
    Using JCR
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip