guide to resources in psychology, human development and related fields
- PsycINFO [via Proquest]
PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.
•PsycINFO Lib Guide [ProQuest]
• Setting up Alerts
- PsycArticles [via Proquest]
Full-Text database of 54 electronic journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
Coverage varies by journal
- Annual Reviews in Psychology
This journal provides in-depth literature reviews on prominent topics in Psychology.
- PsychiatryOnline (including the DSM-5 Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)
PsychiatryOnline provides access to publications from American Psychiatric Publishing, including the DSM® Library titles (including DSM-5), their set of psychiatry journals, their textbooks in psychiatry, the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the treatment of psychiatric disorders and more.
- MIT CogNet: The Brain Science Collection
Full-Text collection of neuroscience reference sources, and MIT Press books and journals in the brain and cognitive sciences.
- PEP web Archive: Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (Index Only)
While UC Davis does not subscribe to The PEP Web Archive, its interface serves as an effective index to 49 premier journals in psychoanalysis, 96 classic psychoanalytic books, as well as the 24 volumes of the Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud and the 18 volume German Freud Standard Edition Gesammelte Werke. many of the citations you will find records for here are available in Shields Library or through Inter-Library Loan.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) [via Ovid]
NOTE: There are a limited number of simultaneous users >> please LOGOFF when finished. HAPI is an index to journal articles and other sources about measurement tools used in in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI includes citations to questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests. It is an excellent source for locating or reviewing health and psychosocial measurement instruments.
Coverage: 1985 to date, with many earlier measures
•Saved Searches/Alerts/Automatic Updating Service
- Oxford bibliographies. Psychology
Oxford Bibliographies in Psychology is a ready, reliable resource for scholars and researchers, practitioners, teachers, and students to access classic, contemporary, and cutting edge scholarship in psychology, much of which is now available in online venues. Oxford Bibliographies in Psychology is a quick, comprehensive, and efficient source for exploring or staying current with the growing science of psychology. As Oxford Bibliographies in Psychology expands, it will reflect changes and developments in this increasingly interdisciplinary "hub" science.
- PsycTESTS [via Ebsco]
PsycTESTS, produced by the American Psychological Association, serves as a repository for a selection of psychometric, learning, and social psychological tests and measures, as well as standardized information about tests.
- Social Science Citation Index [via Web of Knowledge]
The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It is particularly suited to trace citations to authors and articles across publications. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Related: Online tutorial
For help in using the Web of Knowledge Citation indexes.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts [via Proquest]
"CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations."
Related: Fact SheetHelp
- Communication Abstracts [via EBSCO]
Containing over 235,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.
Related: Communication Abstracts
HUM & SOC SCI REF P87 C58
Print edition of Communication Abstracts.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [via Proquest]
The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports.
- Social Services Abstracts [via Proquest]
Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials; covers journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews
- Women's Studies International [via EBSCO]
An interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.
Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
Blaisdell Medical Library
4610 X St
Phone: 916-734-3529Send Email