- 2002 Agricultural Atlas of the United States
National Agricultural Statistics Service, Census Division's Atlas provides many maps based on the 2002 Agricultural Census data. Topics include: number of farms, value of land and buildings, farm size, farms by value of sales, tenure and characteristics of farm operators, principal occupation of operator, and farms by type of organization.
- American Memory Map Collections
Online images of maps in the Library of Congress's collection. The emphasis is on Americana and Cartographic treasures. Categories of maps include: Discovery and Exploration, Transportation and Communication, Military Battles and Campaigns, Cultural Landscapes, and Conservation and Environment. Many of the maps represented are historical maps and most are not covered by copyright protection.
Coverage: 1500 - present
- Atlas of Historical Geography of the United States (1932)
The website is a transcription of the 1932 Atlas into digital format. It is full of historical data that has been mapped across the US and includes weather, travel, population, gold reserves, oil fields, vegetation types and much more.
- Branner Earth Sciences and Map Library Guide to Online Maps
Links to many more online map sites.
- California Historic Topographic Map Collection
Special Collections at California State University, Chico's Merriam Library has a fine collection of scanned historic topographic maps of California.
Calisphere contains more than 150,000 digitized items -- including over 2500 maps -- that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. To search for images of maps, type "maps" in the search box.
- David Rumsey Map Collection
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 150,000 maps online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. Collection categories include antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, childrens and manuscript maps.
- Digital Sanborn maps [via ProQuest]
Sanborn fire insurance maps, created to assist fire insurance companies assess risk, are large-scale community plans drawn at a scale of 50 feet to one inch. The maps give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, and house and block numbers. Sanborn maps also contain data about construction details, building use and the utilities and transportation infrastructure that supported the community overall. Several editions of maps exist for some cities. NOTE: UC Davis Libraries subscribe ONLY to the California and Nevada Digital Sanborn Maps
The USGS Earth Explorer is USGS tool for querying and ordering satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products. Log in as a guest or as a registered user. Registered users have access to more features than guests do. If you plan on using Earth Explorer frequently, you may wish to register.
- Hargrett Library Rare Map Collection
The Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia maintains a collection of more than 800 historic maps spanning nearly 1000 years, from the sixteenth century through the early twentieth century.
- LandScan Global
LandScan is a global population database that shows geographical distribution of population at one-kilometer resolution over an average 24-hour period. The LandScan algorithm uses spatial data and imagery analysis technologies and the most up-to-date census data within an administrative boundary. These population distribution models are tailored to match the data conditions and geographical nature of each individual country and region. The LandScan Global Population Database is developed at the Department of Energy's Oak Ridge National Laboratory
- NOAA's Historical Map and Chart Project
An extensive collection of historical maps and nautical and aeronautical charts.
- Old Maps Online
The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution.
- PAT: the free, open source, portable atlas
Provides open-source, downloadable country and region maps.
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
Over 250,000 online map images from the University of Texas's Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection. Many of the images are general country maps, but there are also many historical maps available with an emphasis on Texas.
- The National Map: Historical Topographic Map Collection
More than 90,000 maps are currently available including all California historical standard quadrangle maps.
- The World Factbook
Small maps of all countries.
- UC Berkeley Library Digital Map Collection
Search thousands of digital maps in the University of California, Berkeley's Earth Sciences & Map Library Digital Collection.
- UC Berkeley Library Digital Map Collection: California 30- & 60-minute Historic USGS Topographic Maps
- UC Berkeley Library Digital Map Collection: Monterey Bay Area Historic USGS Topographic Maps
- UC Berkeley Library Digital Map Collection: San Francisco Bay Area Historic USGS Topographic Maps
- United Nations Environmental Programme (UNEP) GRID/Arendal Maps and Graphics Library
This site catalogs and provides access to maps and graphics that have been prepared for UNEP publications and web-sites from the last 15 years on a wide range of themes related to environment and sustainable development. Maps and graphics are free for viewing and downloading. As of June 20, 2006, there were currently 752 graphics available in the database.
- USGS Publications Warehouse
he USGS Publications Warehouse contains: Full text and maps for over 40,000 USGS publications, citations for over 70,000 USGS publications, and USGS numbered series from as early as 1880. Biological series released by the Fish and Wildlife Service and National Biological Survey prior to creation of the Biological Resources Division in USGS are included in this database. Non-USGS series publications authored by USGS employees are currently NOT included.
Coverage: 1880 - present