- Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online
Geographic database of over 165,000 entries including place-names, physical characteristics and attributes, political properties, economic parameters, and natural and agricultural resources. Global in scope, updated monthly.
- GEOnet Names Server (GNS)
he Geographic Names Server is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign place names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names. The database also contains variant spellings which are useful for finding purposes. It also contains native script spellings for some of the names. All the geographic features in the database contain information about location, administrative division, and quality.
The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) does not contain any data for the United States of America or its Dependent areas. To obtain U.S. data, use the Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) database of names.
Author: National Geospatial Intelligence Agency
Coverage: World-wide except for USA and territories
- Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names® Online
The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ® (TGN) is a structured vocabulary that can be used to improve access to information about art, architecture, and material culture.
- U.S. Gazetteer
Author: Census Bureau
Dates: 1990, 2000, 2010
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
The Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)is the official repository of the United States of America's domestic geographic names data. The GNIS contains information about physical and cultural geographic features of all types in the United States, associated areas, and Antarctica, current and historical, but not including roads and highways. The database holds the Federally recognized name of each feature and defines the feature location by state, county, USGS topographic map, and geographic coordinates. Other attributes include names or spellings other than the official name, feature designations, feature classification, historical and descriptive information, and for some categories the geometric boundaries.
Author: U.S. Board on Geographic Names, USGS
Coverage: United States
- ZIP Code Lookup and Address Information (U.S. Postal Service)
Locate a specific ZIP Code number, all ZIP Code numbers in a city or all cities in a ZIP Code.
- California Gazetteer Cities, Features, Maps & Data
California Cities - profiles of 6,443 California cities, towns & neighborhoods
California Schools search by city, county, or address
California Physical Features such as lakes, islands & steams
California Cultural Features such as parks, hospitals & airports
California Civil Features such as Native Areas and Political Subdivisions
Search by Name, County, ZIP Code or Area Code
- Canadian Geographical Names
Contains 350 000 currently approved geographical names stored on the Canadian Geographical Names Data Base (CGNDB), Canada’s national bank of official geographical names. These names are authorized by the Geographical Names Board of Canada (GNBC), through its provincial, territorial and federal representatives. Also has 37,000 formerly approved names of historical interest and 3,500 names of undersea features
- Index of German-Polish and Polish-German names of the localities in Poland & Russia
Index contains Polish and previous German names of localities situated in Poland and Russia useful for research, history, genealogy, numismatics, philatelic etc. Please excuse lack of Polish and German letters. Index contains also some names of places from former Saxony now in Poland and Silesien now in Germany.
- The JewishGen ShtetlSeeker
A database listing Jewish communities destroyed during the Holocaust. Clicking on name brings up on-screen map from MapQuest's Interactive Atlas.
- Other Place Name Servers
Links to other place name servers are found in this guide created at ASU.