- Encyclopedia of American Studies [via Johns Hopkins University Press]
Edited by Miles Orvell, this is the electronic continuation of Groiler's four volume print version of the Encyclopedia of American Studies(EAS) It is published online by Johns Hopkins Press. Like its predecessor, it provides topical entries on the transdisciplinary field of American Studies, from Hinduism to Hip Hop, from Television to Think Tanks. Its scholarly survey articles, which cover a deep range of social cultural topics, are furnished with key references to further reading. The editorial advisory board to this publication is appointed by the American Studies Association.
Related: Encyclopedia of American Studies, 4 volume print version, Groiler
Humanities and Social Sciences Reference E169.1 E625 2001
- Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History [via CQ Press]
Browse by era or topic, or search the online encyclopedia for information on events, issues, people that have shaped American political life.
- Dictionary of the History of Ideas [Digital Version]
This is an online version of a PREVIOUS Edition of the Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas(DHI),in five volumes and edited by Philip P. Wiener, was published by Charles Scribner's Sons, New York, in 1973-74 (Shields Library CB5 .D52) This e-version is made available through the University of Virginia's Electronic Text Center.
A NEWER Edition is available on paper in the HSSGIS Reference Collection (2nd floor Shields) Call #CB9 .N49 2005
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences, 2nd ed. [via Elsevier, ScienceDirect]
This vast scholarly encyclopedia containing more than 3,900 articles provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields.
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam Online [via Brill Academic Publishers]
"The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries."
Date: 2002 -
- Encyclopaedia Judaica [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]
This is a new, fully updated edition. It contains thousands of articles on all aspects of Jewish tradition, contemporary culture, politics and history.
- Jewish Encyclopedia
This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.). However, it does contain an incredible amount of information that is remarkably relevant today.