This is the "KEY RESOURCES" page of the "GEOGRAPHY" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

GEOGRAPHY  

Lists resources for the study of geography
Last Updated: Apr 30, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/GEOGRAPHY Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

KEY RESOURCES Print Page
  Search: 
 

RESEARCH ASSISTANCE

KEY RESOURCES: SUBJECT SPECIFIC DATABASES

Geography is an interdisciplinary field without a single overarching electronic database. There is good converage of the literature in the specialized databases that correspond to one's inquiry. Issues related to physical geography are discussed across the environmental sciences, and the discourse of social geography takes place in social sciences and even the humanities. Use the SUBJECT GUIDES to explore the databases that correspond to the angle of your inquiry.

For instance, urban geographical inquiries are served by Sociological Abstracts, agricultural inquiries are served by searches in CAB Abstracts, while historical geographical questions about the United States benefit from a literature search in the database American History and Life.

The main index to geography has traditionally been Geographical Abstracts. The University Library does not subscribe to the online version of this citiation index, but we do still subscribe to print issues of Geographical abstracts. Human geography.  See: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference G1 .G433 Lib Use Only. Researchers looking for an interdisciplinary range of articles touching on geographical questions may wish to turn to Scopus or Web of Knowledge

Click here for Information about MAPS and GIS

      

    INTERDISCIPLINARY SOCIAL SCIENCES

    • Social Science Citation Index [via Web of Knowledge]  Icon
      The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It is particularly suited to trace citations to authors and articles across publications. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

      Coverage: 1956-present
      Related: Online tutorial For help in using the Web of Knowledge Citation indexes.
    • Scopus  Icon
      Large interdisciplinary abstract and citiation database to academic journal literature, with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.
    • Sociological Abstracts [via Proquest]  Icon
      Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

      Coverage: 1963-present
    • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM) [via ProQuest]  Icon
      Major areas of coverage include aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology & engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, and risk assessment. Subfiles include: ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B); Ecology Abstracts; Environmental Engineering Abstracts; Health and Safety Science Abstracts; Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A); Pollution Abstracts; Risk Abstracts; Sustainability Science Abstracts; Toxicology Abstracts; and Water Resources Abstracts. EIS: Full Text and Digests of Environmental Impact Statements are combined for cross-searching with ESPM. {RG 12/12/13}
      Coverage: 1967-present (varies by subfile)
      ESPM LibGuide [ProQuest]
      Setting up Alerts
    • CAB Abstracts [via OvidSP]  Icon
      Primarilly covers citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, but also includes geographical literature. This is a large database that covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 9.0 million records.
    • America: History and Life [via EBSCO]  Icon
      Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on American and Canadian history, including ethnic history and relations, from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals published worldwide.
      Coverage: 1964-present
    • Business Source Complete [via Ebsco]  Icon
      Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database.
    • Women's Studies International [via EBSCO]  Icon
      An interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.

      Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
    • GeoRef [via ProQuest]  Icon
      Covers worldwide technical literature on geology, paleontology, and geophysics. Covers the geology of North America from 1785 to present and geology outside of North America from 1933 to present. Also includes GeoRef In Process database and Earth Sciences Deep Indexing. {RG 12/17/13}
      Coverage: 1785-present
      GeoRef Lib Guide [ProQuest]
      Setting up Alerts
      CSA Fact Sheet
    • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
        
        Icon
      More than 23 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
      Coverage: 1926-present
      Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews
      Online BIOSIS information
      Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts

    Social, Cultural and Behavioral Sciences Librarian

    Profile Image
    David Michalski, MLS. Ph.D.
    Contact Info
    Humanities, Social Sciences
    Rm 288, Peter J. Shields Library
    University of California, Davis
    michalski@ucdavis.edu
    530-752-2086
    Office HoursSend Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip