While the subject guides generally class search tools and databases by subject, in this guide we provide you with a list of general databases to search either across the academic disciplines or to search the popular periodical literature.
- Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]
The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- ArticlesFirst (FirstSearch/OCLC)
Citations from the table of contents pages of over 12,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, the humanities, and popular culture.
- Francis [via EBSCO]
"FRANCIS offers extensive bibliographic indexing for over 2.5 million records dating back to 1972. Produced by Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS), the database provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports."
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a broad search for scholarly literature. Searches across disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- LexisNexis Academic
A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. Transcripts from major news media shows are included. Also includes U.S. and International (Canadian and EU) legal resources and it's an excellent source for business news and company reports.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
An electronic version of the classic Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Related: The print version of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-present) is located in the Humanities/Social Sciences Department in Shields Library, AI3.R4
Large interdisciplinary abstract and citiation database to academic journal literature, with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.
- Web of Science Core Collection [via Web of Science]
- Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
Periodicals Index Online is a retrospective database (1665-1995); It also provides access to a smaller set of titles in fulltext electronic form.