This is the "Home" page of the "Exploring NCBI Databases & Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Exploring NCBI Databases & Tools  

This topic guide is intended to support "Exploring NCBI Databases & Tools," a workshop offered throughout the year at UC Davis Library.
Last Updated: Jul 9, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/Exploring_NCBI_Databases_Tools Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this guide

This workshop covers three basic approaches to searching for sequence data and related literature in NCBI Databases:

1.  Navigating across databases -- PubMed is the most common entry point.

2.  Finding sequences in individual databases -- Gene is a good place to start for many questions.

3.  BLAST sequence similarity searching -- Algorithm used to identify similar sequences.

Overview

Begin exploration of NCBI's suite of sequence databases and tools on the NCBI Homepage:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/

NCBI Homepage

      
     

    Librarian

    Amy Studer

    Contact Info:
    Blaisdell Medical Library
    acstuder@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-1678


    Subjects:  Open Access, NCBI Databases & Tools, NIH Public Access Mandate, Public Health, Veterinary Medicine

     

    With Gratitute

    Many thanks to Diane Reim, Peter Cooper, and the staff of NCBI for their guidance and instruction.  Thanks go also to fellow students of NCBI for Librarians, Spring 2013 cohort.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip