This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "Entomology Readings for UC Davis Graduate Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Entomology Readings for UC Davis Graduate Students  

Last Updated: Feb 8, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/EntomolGGeBooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Make an Appointment
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

Biological Sciences | Table of Contents

TABLE OF CONTENTS  (Click on blue links to jump to each section)

Recommended Online Books

Electronic Book Packages

Recommended Online Books

NOTE: All titles below may also be found by using Harvest, the UCD University Library online catalog, where both print and online copies are noted.

  • A dictionary of entomology [on order from CABI; CAB Ref Books]  Icon
    Compiled Gordon Gordh ; with assistance by David Headrick.
    Edition 2nd ed.
    Published Wallingford, Oxfordshire, UK ; Cambridge, MA : CABI, c2011.

    One print copy in Shields Library BioAg Reference at QL462.3 .G67 2011
  • Ecological and environmental physiology of insects [via Oxford Scholarship Online]  
      
      Icon
    Edited Jon F. Harrison, H. Arthur Woods, Stephen P. Roberts.
    Published Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2012.
  • Ecology of insects : concepts and applications [via EBL NLL]  
      
      Icon
    Edited Martin R. Speight, Mark D. Hunter, Allan D. Watt.
    Edition 2nd ed.
    Published Oxford ; Hoboken, NJ : Wiley-Blackwell, 2008

    One print copy in Shields at QL 496.4 .S66 2008

    Textbook exclusion from Wiley Online Library package; ordered via EBL aggregator access
  • Global pesticide resistance in arthropods [via CAB eBooks]  
      
      Icon
    Edited M.E. Whalon, D. Mota-Sanchez and R.M. Hollingworth.
    Published Wallingford, UK ; Cambridge, MA : CABI, c2008
  • Insect ecology: behavior, populations and communities [via EBL NLL]  
      
      Icon
    Publisher: Cambridge University Press; 1st Edition
    Date: September 30, 2011

    Click on LOGIN through your library; type campus access info; Blue button on left column -- click on "Read Online" or choose tab for "Contents" and click on particular chapter.
  • Insect infection and immunity: evolution, ecology, and mechanisms [via Oxford Scholarship Online]  
      
      Icon
    Edited Jens Rolff, Stuart E. Reynolds.
    Published Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2009.
  • Insect molecular genetics : an introduction to principles and applications [via ScienceDirect]  
      
      Icon
    Author: Hoy, Marjorie A.,author.
    Edition Third edition.
    Published Amsterdam : Academic Press, 2013.
  • The insects : an outline of entomology
    Authors Penny J. Gullan and Peter S. Cranston ; with illustrations by Karina H. McInnes.
    Edition 4th ed.
    Published Chichester, West Sussex, UK ; Hoboken, NJ : Wiley-Blackwell, 2010.

    Two print copies in Shields at QL 463 .G85 2010

  • The Insects: outline of entomology [Ordered via EBL NLL]  Icon
    Author Gullan, P. J.,author.
    Title The insects : an outline of entomology / P.J. Gullan and P.S. Cranston ; with illustrations by Karina H. McInnes.
    Edition Fifth ed.
    Published Chichester, West Sussex : Wiley Blackwell, 2014.

    One print copy on order for Shields Library to be found at QL 463 .G85 2015

    Click on LOGIN through your library; type campus access info; Blue button on left column -- click on "Read Online" or choose tab for "Contents" and click on particular chapter.
  • The insects: structure and function [via EBL NLL]  
      
      Icon
    Author Chapman, R. F.(Reginald Frederick)
    Edition 5th ed.
    Published Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2013.

    One print copy on order for Shields Library to be found at QL 463 .G85 2015


    Click on LOGIN through your library; type campus access info; Blue button on left column -- click on "Read Online" or choose tab for "Contents" and click on particular chapter.
  • Medical entomology for students [via EBL NLL]  
      
      Icon
    Author Service, Mike
    Edition 5th ed.
    Published Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2012.


    Click on LOGIN through your library; type campus access info; Blue button on left column -- click on "Read Online" or choose tab for "Contents" and click on particular chapter.
  • Perspectives in ecological theory and integrated pest management  
      
    Edited Marcos Kogan and Paul Jepson.
    Published Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2007.

    Not online -- Cambridge University Press eBooks are not yet negotiated with the UC libraries via CDL. No other online accessible copy for libraries to license.

    One print copy in Shields Library at SB 950 .P37 2007
  • Physiological systems in insects [via ScienceDirect]  Icon
    Author Klowden, Marc J.;
    Edition Third edition.
    Published Academic Press, 2013.

Electronic Book Packages

  • Springer eBooks Package  
      
      Icon
    Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. Coverage: 2005-2017
  • Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection  
      
      Icon
    NOTE: Interface does not separate ebooks from Wiley ejournals.

    Over 2,000 books with 2011-2016 publication dates. The Wiley ebook license comes with broad and favorable rights for scien ptific, scholarly and educational uses. The collection serves wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Wiley collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. The 2015 books continue to be added to the collection throughout the year as they are published simultaneously in both online and print.
    Coverage: 2011-2016
  • CAB eBooks [via CAB Direct]  
      
      Icon
    FARMED OR DOMESTICATED ANIMALS. CABI ebooks now provides access to over 532 agricultural titles (more than 9,000 individual chapters). The archives from 2000-2007 includes 400+ titles (with over 6,500 individual chapters). This collection is divided into six core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal and Veterinary Sciences; Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences; Plant Sciences; Environmental Sciences; and Leisure and Tourism.

    PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by CABI but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package.
    Coverage: 2000-present
    Scroll down to see CABI's ebook coverage in the various eBooks packages (Front file & backfile packages)
  • Elsevier eBook Collection [via ScienceDirect]  
      
      Icon
    NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.

    Over ?3,000 books with 2013-2016 publication dates. The Elsevier eBook license comes with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. The collection serves a wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. The current year's books continue to be added to the collection throughout the year as they are published simultaneously in both online and print.
    Coverage: 2013-2016
  • CRCnetBASE [via CRC Press] (full text books)  
      
      Icon
    Full-text searchable database collection of more than 1500 handbooks, textbooks and manuals in biomedical science, chemistry, environmental sciences, food science, forensic science, math, and statistics. The full database can be searched, or any of the licensed subsets. The following TEN packages are subscribed by the University of California/UC Davis libraries and are also listed separately under their respective Subject Guides: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip