This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "EndNote Online Introduction for Undergraduates" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

EndNote Online Introduction for Undergraduates  

Last Updated: Aug 24, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/EndNoteOnline Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Make an Appointment
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

EndNote Online versions and other bibliographic management software

Although EndNote Online is free to all UCD full-time students, some may be interested in other bibliographic management software programs including some that are open-access. Wikipedia has an extensive comparison table for over 35 bibliographic/reference management software products at:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_reference_management_software

Many of the software vendors also have their own comparison tables or charts.

A simpler version of EndNote Online called EndNote Basic is available freely to all.  

From the following EndNote webpage, scroll down to the gray section labeled "Compare features and capacity" to find a table comparing features available in EndNote Basic versus EndNote desktop/Online versions:

http://endnote.com/product-details/basic

 

 

      

    1) What Is EndNote Online?

    EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web) facilitates collaborative work and using EndNote Online from any internet-accessible location in the world. After installing a Word plug-in on your computer, you can "Cite While You Write" from EndNote Online.

    • EndNote Versions -- Comparison Table
      Scroll down to gray section labeled "Compare features and capacity" to find table comparing features available in EndNote Basic versus EndNote desktop/Online versions.
    • EndNote Instructional Webpage
      Author: UC Davis Libraries

      EndNote, licensed for all UCD full-time students, faculty, researchers and staff, is a bibliographic reference manager which enables citations to be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals or disciplinary styles such as CSE, NLM, ACS or APA. You can also use EndNote as your publication PDF organizational tool, to quickly locate, access and annotate PDFs you have downloaded.
    • Quick Reference Guide -- EndNote Online  
        
      Eight-page guide to getting started with EndNote Online.

    2) EndNote Online at UC Davis

    EndNote Online X7

    Author: Thomson Reuters

    Set up for EndNote Online by 1) creating a Web of Science account or by 2) setting up an EndNote Online account directly through EndNote

    For BIS 98, you will be doing the first option.

    3) Preparing Your EndNote Online Library

    Before you get started with EndNote Online, you will need to add some plug-ins to enable your Exporting features to work and to set up Microsoft Word for the in-text citing or "Cite While You Write" (CWYW) feature.

    • EndNote Online Plug-in instructions
      DOWNLOADING AND INSTALLING PLUG-INS
      1) After you've set up your Web of Science account, click on Endnote on top black bar
      2) You are now in EndNote Basic. Pull down the Format menu, click on CWYW plug-in.
      3) Download for either Windows or Mac platform, click on Run and install the file
      4) Open up Microsoft Word to verify that the CWYW Toolbar is displayed at the top of the program.
      5) In MS Word, open the EndNote tab and go to Preferences and then click on the Applications tab. Make sure to switch from Endnote Desktop to EndNote Online.
    • Creating Groups in EndNote Online
      NDSUlibrary's channel
      Created: March 5, 2015

    4) Adding References to Your EndNote Online Library

    You can only create one library in EndNote Online but you use the Groups option to set up topical segregations of your library. Your EndNote Online library can contain an unlimited number of references. You may then have up to 5,000 custom groups in your library. With one large library you can search across the entire library, no matter how many groups you have.

    There are several different methods to bring references into your EndNote Online Library.  For BIS 98, we will just cover the Direct Export option from the Web of Science interface and searching in BIOSIS Previews or the Web of Science Core Collection database.

    Direct Export for BioAg Related Databases

    Most UCD licensed BioAg subject databases enable one to *directly* export source bibliographic information from the database into your EndNote Library. This is the most efficient method for building a large EndNote library very quickly.

    EndNote Online works directly with Web of Science databases (such as BIOSIS Previews) and with EBSCO databases (such as Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide or SPORTDiscus or Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide)

     CLASS EXERCISE: Search BIOSIS Previews and add appropriate references to your EndNote Online Library.

        

      5) Choosing Favorite Publication Styles

      Using your EndNote Online library, take a look at publication styles which are available by going to Format menu and choosing Bibliography.

      CLASS EXERCISE:  Set up three favorite styles, including CSE C-S

          

        6) EndNote Online Cite While You Write (CWYW)

        EndNote Online’s Cite While You Write (CWYW) feature inserts EndNote commands into Word’s Tools menu (or on an EndNote tab in Word 2007 and 2010 for Windows). This provides you with direct access to your EndNote Online references while writing in Microsoft Word. CWYW commands enable EndNote Online to implement bibliographic formatting to the document that is currently open in Word.

        CLASS EXERCISE:  Keep EndNote Online Library open and open MS Word. Paste a paragraph of any text (an abstract from a citation in your library works well) into MS Word and pick a favorite style for your discipline.

        EndNote Online Help

        Before requesting help, first search the EndNote FAQ collection, the EndNote (software) KnowledgeBase collection, or look for an appropriate YouTube EndNote training video, online training, or webinar (see links below).

        If you have strictly EndNote installation questions, contact UCD IT Express for assistance at 530-754-HELP (4357), Monday - Friday, 7am-9pm.

        If you still have EndNote questions, your course instructor (listed at the top of this Library Course Guide) is your first person to contact. If your instructor is not available, a team of UCD librarians work with EndNote users and may be contacted by email. See the last link below.

        As part of the UC Davis license with EndNote, technical support is available from the vendor. Years of experience of UCD librarians indicates that the most prompt and useful vendor assistance is provided by phone. If you still need assistance after trying all steps below, please call the EndNote tech help Monday-Friday, 6am-5pm Pacific Time, 800-336-4474 and at the prompt press 4, and then select the "ResearchSoft Products" option.

        • EndNote FAQs
          Author: Thomson Reuters

          Extensive FAQ resources focusing on: Working With Word Processors / CWYW; Compatibility, Installing, Uninstalling, and Upgrading; EndNote User Interface; Managing Libraries; Importing Data Into EndNote; Output Styles and more. If not found in the FAQ, search the "Support Knowledge Base for EndNote articles" at http://endnote.com/support/search-knowledgebase

        • YouTube channel -- EndNote training
          Over 59 tutorial videos ranging from 2 minutes to about an hour. Most popular videos are on: How To Use EndNote in 7 Minutes; EndNote Fast Start - Windows class; Importing Text Files from PubMed; Bibliographies Made Easy; and more. A few of the webinar classes have also been recorded and stored on this YouTube channel -- these webinar recordings are usually the hour-long ones.

          Coverage: 2009-2015
        • EndNote Webinars
          Sign up for free one-hour to 1.5 hour sessions offered on all major areas of EndNote and EndNote Web. Sessions often have less than 10 attendees and there is plenty of opportunity to "chat" with the expert instructor. Excellent Pacific time schedules are offered 2-3 times/month for each topic. Register online and confirmation will be sent. If you need to cancel, follow the link located *below* the training steps info in your confirmation email to easily cancel.
        • UCD Librarians -- EndNote Help Form

        EndNote for the iPad

        EndNote iPad was just released in early 2013. This is still a first generation of the iPad version but it is worth exploring for iPad users. As of Summer 2013, there are no iPad specific FAQs and are only a few articles in the EndNote Knowledge Base. PLEASE NOTE: since EndNote is not affiliated with Apple, you will need to pay the app download fee at the iTunes store. Currently this is $3.99 (July 2014).

        iPhone ALERT: If you have your EndNote Web/Online account set up, you can download an EndNote iPhone app.

        EndNote for iPad App (http://endnote.com/ipad)

        Author: Thomson Reuters

        • EndNote iPad Training [YouTube]
          There are three videos on the iPad channel: EndNote on the iPad: A Class Recording (almost 33 minutes); EndNote on iPad: EndNoteSync, PDFs, and Groups (2:33); and EndNote on iPad: The Browser and Downloads (3:16).
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip