This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "ENT 100: General Entomology - Library Resources and Research | Fall 2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

ENT 100: General Entomology - Library Resources and Research | Fall 2014  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/ENT100 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

ENT 100: General Entomology - Library Resources and Research | Table of Contents

Research Help

Entomology Publications Collections

Entomology publications are found in two areas at Shields Library: The Biological & Agricultural Sciences (3rd Floor) and Government Information (Lower Level) collections. In addition, the Carlson Health Sciences Library holds veterinary-related titles pertaining to entomology and titles concerned with human diseases caused by insect vectors in the field of medical entomology.

  • Biological & Agricultural Sciences, Shields Library
    The BioAg Sciences collections are located on the 3rd floor of Shields Library.

    Date: Monday-Friday 1-5pm (530) 752-2143
  • Government Information Collection [UC Davis]  
      
    The UC Davis Library is a federal and state depository library with extensive historical and current collections in print, microform and electronic formats. We collect extensively from major international, intergovernmental organizations, selectively from local jurisdictions, and on a very limited basis from foreign governments. Agriculture, forestry, the environment and ecology are areas of strength. We collect comprehensively from the U.S. Congress and California Legislature, along with federal and state laws and regulations. The Library's collection of technical report literature is extensive. We emphasize statistical data in all collecting areas. Most government documents and maps are listed in the Harvest UC Davis Library Catalog and the UC-wide MELVYL Catalog. Some materials, such as technical reports and historical documents, may require specialized indexes or assistance from government information librarians.
  • Health Sciences Libraries Collections
    The Carlson Health Sciences Library is near the SouthWest corner of the UC Davis campus and the Blaisdell Medical Library is in Sacramento at the UCD Medical Center.

Library Catalogs

  • Harvest UC Davis Catalog
    Harvest is the UCD library online catalog of the collections of all five UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your library card number and PIN, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of Entomology [via Springer]  
      
      Icon
    Author: John L. Capinera (Editor)
    The Encyclopedia of Entomology includes contributions from 450 entomologists from 40 countries which provide a worldwide overview of insects and their close relatives. Coverage includes insect classification, behavior, ecology, genetics and evolution, physiology, and management, and references to relevant literature. All of the major arthropod groups are addressed, along with many important families and species. Special emphasis on insect relationships with people, medical entomology, biological control and insect pathology. Presents biographical sketches of hundreds of entomologists who have made important contributions to the discipline since its origin. Valuable source of information for scientists and students in agronomy, botany, disease biology, ecology, evolutionary biology, forestry, genetics, horticulture, parasitology, toxicology, and zoology. {RG 12/16/13}
    Date: 2008
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia [Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1: Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes; Volume 2: Protostomes; Volume 3: Insects; Volumes 4-5: both concerning Fishes; Volume 6: Amphibians; Volume 7: Reptiles; Volumes 8-11: Birds; Volumes 12-16: Mammals Volume 17: cumulative index.

    •Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.

    •Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

E-book Collections

  • Springer eBooks Package  Icon
    UC-wide licensed three-year (2013-2015) package for Springer eBooks and includes more than 55,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. {RG 12/11/13}
    Coverage: 2005-2014
  • ENVIROnetBASE [via CRCnetBASE]  Icon
    This full-text ENVIROnetBASE collection includes over 600 environmental sciences handbooks and includes indexing of chapters and their figures, charts, tables, illustrations, formulas and rules of thumb. Environmental sciences areas covered include environmental engineering and biotechnology, agricultural and natural resources, ecology, pollution and more. {RG 12/11/13}
    ENVIROnetBASE scope
  • Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection  Icon
    NOTE: Interface does not separate ebooks from Wiley ejournals.

    Over 2,000 books with 2011-2014 publication dates. The Wiley ebook license comes with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. The collection serves wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Wiley collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. The 2014 books continue to be added to the collection throughout the year as they are published simultaneously in both online and print. [RG 1/10/14]
    Coverage: 2011-2014
  • CAB eBooks [via CAB Direct]  
      
      Icon
    FARMED OR DOMESTICATED ANIMALS. CABI ebooks now provides access to over 532 agricultural titles (more than 9,000 individual chapters). The archives from 2000-2007 includes 400+ titles (with over 6,500 individual chapters). This collection is divided into six core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal and Veterinary Sciences; Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences; Plant Sciences; Environmental Sciences; and Leisure and Tourism.

    PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by CABI but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package. {RG 12/16/13}
    Coverage: 2000-present
    CABI's ebook coverage showing two collections (Front file & archives)

Subject Guides

There is a subject guide matching nearly every department on the UC Davis campus. Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!

  • Subject Guides
    Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search for information on your topic.

Databases

  • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    More than 23 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
    Coverage: 1926-present
    Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews
    Online BIOSIS information
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
  • Zoological Record [via ProQuest]  
      
      Icon
    WILDLIFE. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies. Backfile for 1864-1977 added April 2007.
    Coverage: 1864-present [1864-1977 backfile added]
    Setting up Alerts
    Zoological Record's 150th anniversary
    Zoological Record information
  • CAB Abstracts [via OvidSP]  
      
      Icon
    FARMED or DOMESTICATED ANIMALS. Citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 9.0 million records. {RG 12/13/13}
    CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted *below* the UC-eLinks button). Currently, only Internet Explorer, Chrome & Safari loads these PDFs.
    Coverage: 1910-present
    CAB Abstracts Overview
    Database Guide[OvidSP]
    Saved Searches/Alerts/Automatic Updating Service
  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) [via ProQuest]  
      
      Icon
    UCD's *most* important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
    Coverage: varies by subfile; 1971-present;earlier for selected core titles
    ASFA Lib Guide [ProQuest]
    Setting up Alerts

UC-eLinks

  • UC-eLinks
    Brought to you by UC libraries! UC-eLinks helps to link you to *choices* to find the item(s) you are interested in. UC-eLinks appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of getting to online articles (if licensed) or to information about which print issues of a journal we own. If we do not own a journal or book, you can use the UC-eLinks service to Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library -- often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

Peer-Reviewed Journal Databases

A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality -- by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor -- before being accepted for publication.

All ProQuest databases (such as Zoological Record) separate result sets into tabbed categories including "Peer-Reviewed" journals. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to locate your journal. To the left of your title, look for a vertical black/white symbol depicting a referee jersey and thus noting the publication is "Refereed".

  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory  
      
      Icon
    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich's provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

Journal Ranking

Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines.

NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, pushing rankings for original research titles lower, so use with caution.  Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in ... ; Annual Review of ...; Critical Reviews in ... ; Current Opinion in ... ; Expert Reviews in ... ; International Review of ... ; Progress in ... ; Trends in ...

  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  
      
      Icon
    Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
    Release Coverage: 2007-2013 (for 2006-2012 data)
    Information for New JCR Users
    Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
    Using JCR
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip