This is the "Subject Specific Databases" page of the "DISABILITY STUDIES: SUBJECT GUIDE" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

DISABILITY STUDIES: SUBJECT GUIDE  

Last Updated: Apr 15, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/DISABILITY_STUDIES Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Subject Specific Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Specific Databases

  • America: History and Life [via EBSCO]  Icon
    Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on American and Canadian history, including ethnic history and relations, from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals published worldwide.
    Coverage: 1964-present
  • Education Source [via EBSCO]  Icon
    Education Source is the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.
  • ERIC [via U.S. Government]
    Copy and paste titles of journals or books from search results into Harvest catalog to determine their availability.
  • Gender Watch  Icon
    A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
  • Historical Abstracts [via EBSCO]  Icon
    Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.
    Coverage: 1967-present
  • LGBT Life [via Ebsco]  Icon
    LGBT Life (previously GLBT Life) contains indexing and abstracts for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender-specific core periodicals, in addition to data mined from over 1400 select titles. LGBT Life contains all relevant data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies database.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts [via Proquest]  Icon
    "CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations."

    Coverage: 1973-present
    Related: Fact Sheet
    Help
  • MEDLINEplus
    Full-text reputable consumer health information compiled by the National Library of Medicine from authenticated sources including the various U.S. Government agencies involved with health care. Many free and reliable full-text sources are incorporated including drug information, dictionaries and directories.
  • MLA International Bibliography [via Proquest]  Icon
    The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
    Coverage: 1926-present
    Related: Instructions on downloading filters and importing citations using Endnote
    MLA Directory of Periodicals
    Quick Reference Card
  • PAIS International Database [via Proquest]  
      
      Icon
    Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
    Coverage is from 1913 to present.
    CSA Fact Sheet
    Setting up Alerts
  • PsycINFO [via Proquest]  
      
      Icon
    PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.
    Coverage: 1840-present
    PsycINFO Lib Guide [ProQuest]
    Setting up Alerts
  • PubMed  
      
      Icon
    More than 23 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform. {RG 12/12/13}
    Coverage: 1946-present
    PubMed Tutorial & more
    Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
    NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
    NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]
  • REHABDATA Database
    REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The main file, 1997-present, describes over 12,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Three main categories of documents are included: (1) reports, studies, and papers submitted by projects funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (as featured in the NIDRR Program Directory); (2) articles published in rehabilitation-related periodicals; and (3) commercially published books. Some non-print materials are also included.
  • Social Services Abstracts [via Proquest]  Icon
    Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials; covers journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews
  • Sociological Abstracts [via Proquest]  Icon
    Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

    Coverage: 1963-present
  • SPORTDiscus [via EBSCO]  Icon
    SPORTDiscus is the world's leading database in sport, health, fitness and sports medicine. SportDiscus has over 1.7 million qualified references from thousands of international periodicals, books, e-journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and websites that focus on different areas involving sport, including: sport sciences, engineering, psychology, administration, sociology, history, coaching, training, physical education, physical fitness, health and recreation. {Added related info RG 12/17/13}
    Coverage: 1800-Present
    Saving Search and Alerting Functions (Guide) Click on Document Download link to obtain the 17-page MS Word document
  • Women's Studies International [via EBSCO]  Icon
    An interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.

    Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Roberto C. Delgadillo
Contact Info
Peter J. Shields Library
Humanities, Social Sciences and Government Information Services (HSSGIS) Department
Phone: 530-752-8266
Email: rdelgadillo@lib.ucdavis.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip