This guide contains resources that focus exclusively on the history of California and the American West. It should be used in conjunction with the HISTORY SUBJECT GUIDE where many other relevant resources may be found (see link in "Related Guides" box).
- Sacramento Bee, Historical [via NewsBank]
Full-text of the Sacramento Bee newspaper from 1857-1979. In time, coverage will be complete to 1984 where the current online edition begins.
- American West: Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago [via Adam Matthew]
The Everett D. Graff Collection is one of the major special collections on the American West. This database contains a full-text selection of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources from that collection. It also includes such supplementary materials as scholarly essays and data maps. It is a rich resource to explore almost any aspect of the history of the American West.
- American Indian Histories and Cultures [via Adam Matthew]
This full-text collection documents "interactions between American Indians and Europeans [in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico] from their earliest contact, . . .[through] the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century." The documents are drawn from Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library. Also includes maps and images, scholarly essays to provide context and bibliographies to suggest further reading.
- Indigenous Peoples: North America [via Gale]
"The archive includes extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections" It "sources collections from across Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth into the twentieth century."
- Bibliography of Native North Americans [via Ebsco]
This database contains citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents about native peoples of North America published from the Sixteenth Century to the present.
- American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971 [via ProQuest]
This resource focuses on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century, although it is strong in the 19th Century as well. It includes two major collections on the 20th Century: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.
phone: (530) 752-2040
Office: 2nd floor Shields Library
PLEASE GET IN TOUCH
if you have a question or to make an appointment.Send Email