This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "AVS 13 Avian Science Birds-Humans-Environment | Fall 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

AVS 13 Avian Science Birds-Humans-Environment | Fall 2016  

Last Updated: Oct 7, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/AVS13 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Make an Appointment
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

Library Catalogs

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as avian or  bird or poultry behavior rather than the more specific feeding behavior in crows.   Useful subject searches include birds -- pictorial works or birds -- reproduction or birds -- behavior  or poultry breeds etc.

CALL NUMBER ranges:  QL 670s-690s  Ornithology/Birds    OR   SF 480s-490s  Domesticaled Birds/Poultry  

  • UC Davis Library Catalog  
      
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.
  • Understanding the Call Numbers
    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM -- National Library of Medicine -- classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with the following guide.

    Date: 2004

BioAg PRINT Reference Collection

The BioAg Reference Collection on the 3rd floor of Shields Library has an extensive selection of PRINT resources on birds in the QL 670-690 call number range.  See the orange C area near the bottom left of the 3rd floor map for Shields

Reference books may not be checked out but may be photocopied or scanned at the Shields Library copier/printer/scanner machines located on the 1st floor of Shields Library.

Books such as field guides, encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks are located here.  Below are selected titles, including the most extensive book series on birds in the world, the 17-volume Handbook of the Birds of the World

  • Introduction to California Birdlife
    California Natural History Guide from the University of California Press
  • National Geographic Field Guide to the Birds of North America
  • National Geographic Complete Birds of North America
  • Handbook of the Birds of the World
    v. 1. Ostrich to ducks -- v. 2. New World vultures to guineafowl -- v. 3. Hoatzin to auks -- v. 4. Sandgrouse to cuckoos -- v. 5. Barn-owls to hummingbirds -- v. 6. Mousebirds to hornbills -- v. 7. Jacamars to woodpeckers -- v. 8. Broadbills to tapaculos -- v. 9. Cotingas to pipits and wagtails -- v. 10. Cuckoo-shrikes to thrushes -- v. 11. Old World flycatchers to Old World warblers -- v. 12. Picathartes to tits and chickadees -- v. 13. Penduline-tits to shrikes -- v. 14. Bush-shrikes to Old World sparrows -- v. 15. Weavers to New World warblers-- v. 16. Tanagers to New World blackbirds -- [v. 17.] Special volume. New species and global index.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • Birds of North America (BNA)  
      
      Icon
    Author: Cornell Lab of Ornithology and the American Ornithologists' Union
    Authoritative treatise of monographs on birds which nest in North America with accompanying photos, audio and video files. This reference series includes "comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada". Each monograph includes sections on distinguishing characteristics, distribution (with accompanying map), systematics, migration, habitat, food habits, sounds, behavior, breeding, demography and populations, conservation and management, appearance, measurements and priorities for future research.
    Coverage: 2003-
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia [Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1: Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes; Volume 2: Protostomes; Volume 3: Insects; Volumes 4-5: both concerning Fishes; Volume 6: Amphibians; Volume 7: Reptiles; Volumes 8-11: Birds; Volumes 12-16: Mammals Volume 17: cumulative index.

    •Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.

    •Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts
  • WILDPro
    Debra Bourne (Chief Editor). An electronic encyclopaedia and a library of electronic books and documents providing information on the natural history, health and management of captive and free-ranging wild animals. The Wildpro® Electronic Library contains more than 200 documents ranging in size from single page factsheets or pamphlets to whole books such as the classic 1910 text "Elephants and Their Diseases" (G.H. Evans), the "Field Manual of Wildlife Diseases" (National Wildlife Health Center, USGS) and the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust's "Wetlands, Wildlife and Industry: a manual of principles and practice." {RG 12/11/13}
  • Encyclopedia of Biodiversity [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  Icon
    Editor: Simon Levin
    The 2nd edition of this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. "Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity." Over 320 articles with "approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms". Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates {RG 12/11
  • Dictionary of Scientific Biography (complete) [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This "complete" online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.

Journal Ranking

Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in ornithology and other areas such as ecology, physiology etc.

Using the Subject category display, look up Ornithology, then choose to SORT by 5-year impact factor.

NOTE: *review* journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution. Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in ... ; Annual Review of ...; Critical Reviews in ... ; Current Opinion in ... ; Expert Reviews in ... ; International Review of ... ; Progress in ... ; Trends in ...

  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  
      
      Icon
    Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
    Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
    Information for New JCR Users
    Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
    Using JCR

Subject Specific Databases

  • Zoological Record [via ProQuest]  
      
      Icon
    WILDLIFE. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies. Backfile for 1864-1977 added April 2007.
    Coverage: 1864-present [1864-1977 backfile added]
    Setting up Alerts
    Zoological Record's 150th anniversary
    Zoological Record information
  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) [via ProQuest]  
      
      Icon
    UCD's *most* important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
    Coverage: varies by subfile; 1971-present;earlier for selected core titles
    ASFA Lib Guide [ProQuest]
    Setting up Alerts
  • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide [via EBSCO]  Icon
    Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Database producer from South Africa with excellent coverage of African publications. {RG 12/12/13}
    Coverage: 1935 (& earlier)-present
    Saving Search and Alerting Functions (Guide) Click on Document Download link to obtain the 17-page MS Word document

Generalized Databases

Handbooks and Textbooks

  • Sturkie's Avian Physiology [via ScienceDirect}  
      
      Icon
    Sixth edition of a comprehensive work (1055 pages) covering all aspects of avian physiology: Sensory biology and nervous system; Organ systems; Metabolism; Endocrinology; and Reproduction.
  • Comprehensive Physiology [via Wiley]  Icon
    Author: American Physiological Society
    The most wide-ranging and authoritative collection of review content ever assembled in the physiological sciences, including comparative physiology. Comprehensive Physiology includes the landmark series Handbook of Physiology, available for the first time in an online format. This seminal series will be continually updated and expanded to capture the current science of physiology for a twenty-first-century readership.
    {RG 12/16/13}

Electronic Book and Document Collections

  • Threatened and Endangered Birds (CA DFW)
    California Department Fish and Wildlife (DFW) official list of Endangered and Threatened birds for the state and federal areas.
  • Endangered Species (US F&W)
    Database of ALL species formerly listed as Endangered by the US Fish & Wildlife
  • CAB eBooks [via CAB Direct]  
      
      Icon
    FARMED OR DOMESTICATED ANIMALS. CABI ebooks now provides access to over 532 agricultural titles (more than 9,000 individual chapters). The archives from 2000-2007 includes 400+ titles (with over 6,500 individual chapters). This collection is divided into six core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal and Veterinary Sciences; Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences; Plant Sciences; Environmental Sciences; and Leisure and Tourism.

    PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by CABI but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package.
    Coverage: 2000-present
    Scroll down to see CABI's ebook coverage in the various eBooks packages (Front file & backfile packages)
  • Springer eBooks Package  
      
      Icon
    Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. Coverage: 2005-2017
  • ENVIROnetBASE [via CRCnetBASE]  Icon
    This full-text ENVIROnetBASE collection includes over 600 environmental sciences handbooks and includes indexing of chapters and their figures, charts, tables, illustrations, formulas and rules of thumb. Environmental sciences areas covered include environmental engineering and biotechnology, agricultural and natural resources, ecology, pollution and more. {RG 12/11/13}
    ENVIROnetBASE scope
  • Document Library [California Department of Fish and Wildlife]
    The California Department of Fish & Wildlife (DFW) Document Library is an online repository of thousands of DFG related documents from California agencies, contractors, and related non-governmental organizations. In addition to advanced searching for title, author, subject, keywords, and date ranges, all documents in the DFG Document Library are organized by Categories. "Browse By Category" is a convenient way to see all available groupings and learn which DFG function or program is responsible for each category. You may also view a complete list of DFG documents and then link directly to that program's web page. The majority of documents digitized are from the 2000s with the largest collection of documents on "California Wildlife Habitat Relationships". NOTE: CA DFG (Department of Fish and Game) changed to CA DFW (Department of Fish and Wildlife) in January 2013. {RG 12/11/13}
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library
    The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries worldwide that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) with access provided to texts "with information on over a 150 million species names." {RG 12/11/13}
    Biodiversity Heritage Library Tutorials
  • SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
    WILDLIFE. The SORA project is an open access electronic journal archive and is the product of a collaboration between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico libraries and IT department. This archive provides access to extensive ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120+ years. Fiveteen major ornithological publication backfiles are now included. {RG 12/16/13}
    Coverage: Varies according to journal title
  • Early Encounters in North America (EENA): Peoples, Cultures and the Environment [via Alexander Street Press]  Icon
    EENA contains full text letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters, centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico. Includes information on the peoples, places, environment, flora and fauna encountered. Of note are more than 9,000 Audubon prints from "The Birds of America" as well as the complete contents of the three-volume "The Quadrupeds of North America".
    Coverage: 1534-1959
    For help using this database

Field Guides

  • International Field Guides database
    Author: Diane Schmidt
    Database of field guides that were reviewed and assessed to create a listing of over 5,900 titles. Useful for field researchers who wish to determine if a published, portable guide exists which covers a geographic region and/or type of species, or natural history topic. NOTE: If a field guide you need is not owned by the UC Davis libraries, please contact Ruth Gustafson at ragustafson@lib.ucdavis.edu to purchase the item. {RG 12/13/13}

Images

  • Internet Bird Collection (IBC)
    A free collaborative collection of photos and videos from amateur and professional photographers workwide with 93.86% of all known bird species included. As of December 2013 includes: 80,299 videos; 104,827 photos; and 11,373 sound files.

    "The Internet Bird Collection (IBC) is a non-profit endeavour with the ultimate goal of disseminating knowledge about the world's avifauna. ... While the initial aim is to post at least one video or photo per species, the long-term objective is to eventually include material showing a variety of biological aspects (e.g. feeding, breeding, etc.) for every species." {RG 12/16/13}
  • Animal Science Image Gallery
    Author: USDA National Agricultural Library & American Society of Animal Science
    The Animal Science Image Gallery began as a partnership between the Animal Science Education Consortium (fifteen colleges and universities in the northeast and mid-Atlantic states) and the National Agriculture Library (NAL), funded (2003-2007) by a USDA Higher Education Challenge Grant. {RG 12/16/13}
  • National Digital Library [US Fish & Wildlife Service]
    Free online digital media library from US F&WS. Wide assortment of selected images, publications (including historic documents, oral histories and more), video and audio clips, and maps that are in the public domain. {RG 5/21/10}
  • NOAA Photo Library
    Author: National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration

    This digital photo collection includes "the work, observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel that make up" NOAA. {RG 12/10/13}

    This "collection spans centuries of time and much of the natural world from the center of the Earth to the surface of the Sun" and "includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton. ... The geographic range of NOAA work encompasses polar region to polar region and much of the World's oceans."
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip