This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "ANT 154BN: Primate Evolutionary Ecology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

ANT 154BN: Primate Evolutionary Ecology  

Last Updated: Aug 23, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/ANT154BN Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Make an Appointment
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

Research Help

UC Davis Library Catalog

The UCD libraries have an extensive collection of books on primates. Most print materials on primates will be found at the Shields Library with some titles located in the Carlson Health Sciences Library (where the print VetMed collections are found). Browsable subject headings that bring up primate publications include: Primates -- behavior ; Primates -- ecology ; Primates -- evolution; and Primates -- food .

  • UC Davis Library Catalog  
      
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

E-book Collections

Springer eBooks package includes over 140 book titles or chapters on primates as well as two important primatology book series:   Developments in Primatology ; and Primatology Monographs.

  • Springer eBooks Package  
      
      Icon
    Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. Coverage: 2005-2017

Encyclopedias

  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia [Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1: Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes; Volume 2: Protostomes; Volume 3: Insects; Volumes 4-5: both concerning Fishes; Volume 6: Amphibians; Volume 7: Reptiles; Volumes 8-11: Birds; Volumes 12-16: Mammals Volume 17: cumulative index.

    •Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.

    •Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

Primate Fact Sheets

  • Primate Factsheets
    Author: Wisconsin National Primate Research Center

    Factsheets are from Primate Info Net (PIN) and other primate websites. Each Primate Info Net (PIN) Factsheet "covers one or more species, including morphology, ecology, behavior, and conservation with range maps, images, and an extensive glossary of terms to illustrate the text."

    Entries may be sorted by Taxonomy or Geography and entries may be viewed by Common name or Scientific name. You may also limit by the following categories: Apes, New World, Old World, and Prosimians. Most entries are in English with a few in Spanish and French.

Subject Guides

  • Subject Guides Useful for Primate Ecology  
      
    Subject Guides appropriate to primate evolutionary ecology are "Animal Science/Wildlife Biology" or "Ecology and Conservation Biology" under the "Biological & Agricultural Sciences" heading (left column) and "Anthropology" under the "Social Sciences" heading (right column, scrolling down).

Peer-Reviewed Journal Databases

A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality -- by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor -- before being accepted for publication.

Most ProQuest databases (such as Zoological Record and PsycINFO) separate result sets into tabbed categories including "Peer-Reviewed" journals. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to locate your journal. To the left of your title, look for a vertical black/white symbol depicting a referee jersey and thus noting the publication is "Refereed".

  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory  
      
      Icon
    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich's provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

Databases

  • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
    Coverage: 1926-present
    Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews, 2010
    Online BIOSIS information
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
  • Zoological Record [via ProQuest]  
      
      Icon
    WILDLIFE. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies. Backfile for 1864-1977 added April 2007.
    Coverage: 1864-present [1864-1977 backfile added]
    Setting up Alerts
    Zoological Record's 150th anniversary
    Zoological Record information
  • Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide [via EBSCO]  Icon
    Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Database producer from South Africa with excellent coverage of African publications. {RG 12/12/13}
    Coverage: 1935 (& earlier)-present
    Saving Search and Alerting Functions (Guide) Click on Document Download link to obtain the 17-page MS Word document
  • PrimateLit
    PLEASE NOTE: The PrimateLit database is no longer being updated as of November 30, 2010. The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to November 2010 and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography). Literature acquisition, analysis, and indexing was a collaborative project of the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, the Washington National Primate Research Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries. {RG 12/16/13}
    Coverage: 1940-November 30, 2010
  • Anthropology Plus [via EBSCO]  Icon
    Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
    Date: Late 19th century to present
  • Science Citation Index Expanded [via Web of Science]  
      
      Icon
    Multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the peer-reviewed journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Search for articles that cite a known author or work.
    Coverage: 1900-present
    Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
    How to create Author Citation Reports
    Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
    Creating a Citation Alert

UC-eLinks

  • UC-eLinks
    Brought to you by UC libraries! UC-eLinks helps to link you to *choices* to find the item(s) you are interested in. UC-eLinks appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of getting to online articles (if licensed) or to information about which print issues of a journal we own. If we do not own a journal or book, you can use the UC-eLinks service to Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library -- often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

Images

  • PrimateImages: Natural History Collection [via the University of Wisconsin]
    The PrimateImages database is a "collection of photographs and information about nonhuman primates. These images were contributed by numerous photographers through the Lawrence Jacobsen Library at the Wisconsin National Primate Research Center, University of Wisconsin in an effort to preserve the visual record nonhuman primate species. This site contains photographs of most known primate species as well as related images such as habitat, maps and food sources." {updated RG 12/16/13}

EndNote

  • EndNote Online Introduction for Undergraduates [Course Guidfe]
    EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web) facilitates collaborative work and using EndNote Online from any internet-accessible location in the world. EndNote, licensed for all UCD full-time students, faculty, researchers and staff, is a bibliographic reference manager which enables citations to be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals or disciplinary styles such as CSE, NLM, ACS or APA. You can also use EndNote as your publication PDF organizational tool, to quickly locate, access and annotate PDFs you have downloaded.
  • EndNote Intro for BioAgEnvi Sciences Researchers [Course Guide]  
      
    Author: Ruth Gustafson

    This webpage is the step-by-step guide for the bi-monthly in-person EndNote Intro course taught in Shields Library.
  • EndNote Instructional Webpage
    Author: UC Davis Libraries

    EndNote, licensed for all UCD full-time students, faculty, researchers and staff, is a bibliographic reference manager which enables citations to be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals.

Data Management Plans for Grants

The NIH and most NSF directorates are now requiring that a data management plan be submitted as part of any grant application.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip