Librarian Subject Specialist
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Shields Library, 3rd Floor
Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ANS 002: Animal Science, Introduction to - Spring 2014 | Table of Contents
TABLE OF CONTENTS (Click on blue links to jump to each section)
UC Davis Animal-Related Library Collections
FACULTY: Jim Murray — firstname.lastname@example.org
Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as domesticated animal behavior or farm animal behavior rather than the more specific post-natal maternal behavior in pigs. Useful subject searches by type of animal include cattle reproduction or swine reproduction or cattle behavior or sheep behavior etc.
Building Search Term Lists & other Searching Tips
Searching library literature databases often requires including synonomous terms, if there is not a specific subject or thesaurus term from your database.
CONCEPT A CONCEPT B CONCEPT C CONCEPT D CONCEPT D CONCEPT E
pre-natal post-natal maternal behavior cattle sheep
pre-birth post-birth mother ? cow ewe
? ? ? ? ? ?
Combine your synonyms with OR, such as
maternal OR mother OR dam ....
Concepts that you wish to cross or intersect, combine using AND
post-natal AND maternal AND cattle AND behavior
MORE than one spelling possibility or want to pick up plurals? Use a wildcard, such as the asterisk (*) at the end of words ... (used in CAB Abstracts and BIOSIS Previews)
post-natal AND maternal AND ewe* AND behavio*
Library literature databases assist one in looking for very specific topics such as post-natal maternal behavior in sheep.
Some library databases covering animal topics range from agriculture databases with domesticated animal information (CAB Abstracts and Agricola) to very broad databases which include animal behavior research (PsycINFO & BIOSIS Previews).
NOTE: For ANS 2 Paper Assignment I, use the CAB Abstracts database (excellent for cattle, sheep and pig studies); for Paper Assignment II, use the BIOSIS Previews database (excellent for lab animal studies, especially of mice and rats).
Peer-Reviewed Journal Databases
A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality -- by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor -- before being accepted for publication.
ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO and PAIS) include a checkbox to limit to "Peer Reviewed" articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black symbol indicating the publication is "Refereed".
Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties.
NOTE: all publications listed in the "AGRICULTURE, DAIRY & ANIMAL SCIENCE" subject category are peer-reviewed journals.