This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "ANS 140: Laboratory Animal Management | Fall 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

ANS 140: Laboratory Animal Management | Fall 2016  

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/ANS140 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Make an Appointment
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

ANS 140: Laboratory Animal Management | Table of Contents

UC Davis Animal-Related Library Collections

Sandra Weisker — SWeisker@ucdavis.edu

UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system. Animal biology research crosses over multiple departmental lines at UC Davis so library resources supporting not just the UCD Animal Biology Graduate Group but also the departments of Animal Science, Entomology & Nematology, Evolution & Ecology, Wildlife, Fish & Conservation Biology as well as School of Veterinary Medicine may be useful to animal biology researchers. In addition, there is cross-interest with the graduate level collections supporting the Center for Population Biology, and graduate programs in Animal Behavior, Avian Sciences, and Integrated Pest Management.

      

    Research Help

    Library Catalogs

    There are a variety of useful Library of Congress Subject Headings for Laboratory Animal materials including: Animal Testing Alternatives; Laboratory Animals (with a variety of subheadings such as behavior etc.); Animal Experimentation; Animal Welfare; Laboratory Animal Science -- organization & administration and more.

    • UC Davis Library Catalog  
        
      Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

    Websites

    • Animal Alternatives Information
      The UC Davis Center for Animal Alternatives places special emphasis on disseminating up-to-date information concerning animal alternatives through every level of public and private education. It also seeks to provide investigators who use animals with information on the most current methods for improving all aspects of animal care during their work.

      Useful sections include: Alternatives Searching Tools and Guides; and Topic-Specific Searches {RG 12/16/13}
    • ILAR: Institute for Laboratory Animal Research
      Author: National Academies; Division on Earth & Life Studies

      The Institute of Laboratory Animal Research (ILAR) evaluates and disseminates information on issues related to the scientific, technological, and ethical use of animals and related biological resources in research, testing, and education.

    E-book Collections

    • CAB eBooks [via CAB Direct]  
        
        Icon
      FARMED OR DOMESTICATED ANIMALS. CABI ebooks now provides access to over 532 agricultural titles (more than 9,000 individual chapters). The archives from 2000-2007 includes 400+ titles (with over 6,500 individual chapters). This collection is divided into six core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal and Veterinary Sciences; Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences; Plant Sciences; Environmental Sciences; and Leisure and Tourism.

      PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by CABI but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package.
      Coverage: 2000-present
      Scroll down to see CABI's ebook coverage in the various eBooks packages (Front file & backfile packages)
    • Electronic books in the Biological and Health Sciences  
        
      Author: [Compiled by the UCD Carlson Health Sciences Library]
      Subject listing of electronic books (handbooks, textbooks, guides) in basic biological and related health sciences disciplines/specialties and subdisciplines/subspecialties. Includes online books in general biology, biochemistry, endrocrinology & metabolism, genetics, microbiology & virology, molecular biology, neurology, nutrition, physiology, toxicology and veterinary medicine. All books are searchable at chapter-level.
    • Springer eBooks Package  
        
        Icon
      Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. Coverage: 2005-2017

    Protocol Tools

    • Current Protocols Series [Wiley]  
        
        Icon
      Covers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work "Current Protocols in Molecular Biology" with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following FIVE protocol titles: "Chemical Biology", "Essential Laboratory Techniques", "Magnetic Resonance Imaging", "Plant Sciences" (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and "Stem Cell Biology".
      Updates: Quarterly or more frequently
    • Springer Protocols  
        
        Icon
      Springer Protocols contains more than 34,000 (as of September 2014) molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols, mostly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.
      Coverage: 1980-present
      Ten-page User Guide
    • Cold Spring Harbor Protocols  Icon
      A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. Coverage: 2006-present {RG 12/11/13}
      Search Help
    • Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)  
        
        Icon
      Author: MYJoVE Corporation
      Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.
      July 2014: JoVE Science Education section in process for licensing {still not accessible September 2014}
      Coverage: Access currently to JoVE General section and all journal subsections
      Date: 2006- (General) 2013- (subsections)
    • Bio-protocol
      A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community. Coverage: Jan 2011 – present.

    Subject Guides

    • Subject Guides
      Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search for information on your topic.

    Databases

    Library literature databases for Animal Science range from databases strictly about primates (PrimateLit), to very broad databases which include animal behavior research (PsycINFO & BIOSIS Previews), to specialized databases concerning wildlife (Zoological Record and Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide), to agriculture databases with domesticated animal information (CAB Abstracts and Agricola). Veterinary resources are best found in the PubMed and CAB Abstracts databases.

    UC-eLinks

    • UC-eLinks
      Brought to you by UC libraries! UC-eLinks helps to link you to *choices* to find the item(s) you are interested in. UC-eLinks appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of getting to online articles (if licensed) or to information about which print issues of a journal we own. If we do not own a journal or book, you can use the UC-eLinks service to Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library -- often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

    EndNote

    • EndNote Instructional Webpage
      Author: UC Davis Libraries

      EndNote, licensed for all UCD full-time students, faculty, researchers and staff, is a bibliographic reference manager which enables citations to be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals.
    • EndNote Intro for BioAgEnvi Sciences Researchers [Course Guide]  
        
      Author: Ruth Gustafson

      This webpage is the step-by-step guide for the bi-monthly in-person EndNote Intro course taught in Shields Library.

    Images

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip