This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "ANS 106: Applied Domestic Animal Behavior Laboratory - Spring 2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

ANS 106: Applied Domestic Animal Behavior Laboratory - Spring 2014  

Last Updated: Apr 24, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/ANS106 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

ANS 106: Applied Domestic Animal Behavior Laboratory - Spring 2014 | Table of Contents

UC Davis Animal-Related Library Collections

INSTRUCTOR:  YeunShin Lee — dizee@ucdavis.edu

UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system. The UCD libraries support the UCD departments of Animal Science, Entomology, Evolution & Ecology, Nematology, Wildlife, Fish & Conservation Biology as well as the only School of Veterinary Medicine in the University of California. Graduate level collections also support the Center for Population Biology, and graduate programs in Animal Behavior, Animal Biology, Avian Sciences, and Integrated Pest Management.

      

    Research Help

    Scientific Publication Cycle

    • Scientific Publication Cycle [Diagram]
      Author: University of New Brunswick Libraries

      Illustration of scientific research process using a clockwise timeline with indication of earliest record to later records of the research process. Includes what tools (databases, catalogs) can be used to ACCESS the literature at various points in the research process.

    Journal Ranking

    Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties.

    NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution.  Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in ... ; Annual Review of ...; Critical Reviews in ... ; Current Opinion in ... ; Expert Reviews in ... ; International Review of ... ; Progress in ... ; Trends in ...

    • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  Icon
      Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort. {RG 12/11/13}
      Coverage: 2007-2012
      Information for New JCR Users
      Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
      Using JCR Wisely

    Library Catalogs

    • Harvest UC Davis Catalog
      Harvest is the UCD library online catalog of the collections of all five UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your library card number and PIN, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.
    • WorldCat [via FirstSearch/OCLC]  Icon
      OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
      Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present

    E-book Collections

    Below are listed major publishers which the UC Davis or UC libraries have a license to. In addition, UC Davis libraries have begun to purchase eBooks from eBook aggregators. Currently UCD Libraries have licenses with eBrary and EBL. These books can all be found through the Harvest UCD Library online Catalog.

    • CAB eBooks [via CAB Direct]  
        
        Icon
      FARMED OR DOMESTICATED ANIMALS. CABI ebooks now provides access to over 532 agricultural titles (more than 9,000 individual chapters). The archives from 2000-2007 includes 400+ titles (with over 6,500 individual chapters). This collection is divided into six core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal and Veterinary Sciences; Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences; Plant Sciences; Environmental Sciences; and Leisure and Tourism.

      PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by CABI but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package. {RG 12/16/13}
      Coverage: 2000-present
      CABI's ebook coverage showing two collections (Front file & archives)
    • Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection  Icon
      NOTE: Interface does not separate ebooks from Wiley ejournals.

      Over 2,000 books with 2011-2014 publication dates. The Wiley ebook license comes with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. The collection serves wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Wiley collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. The 2014 books continue to be added to the collection throughout the year as they are published simultaneously in both online and print. [RG 1/10/14]
      Coverage: 2011-2014
    • Springer eBooks Package  Icon
      UC-wide licensed three-year (2013-2015) package for Springer eBooks and includes more than 55,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. {RG 12/11/13}
      Coverage: 2005-2014

    Subject Guides

    • Subject Guides
      Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search for information on your topic.

    Databases

    Library literature databases for Animal topics range from databases strictly about primates (PrimateLit), to very broad databases which include animal behavior research (PsycINFO & BIOSIS Previews), to specialized databases concerning wildlife (Zoological Record and Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide), to agriculture databases with domesticated animal information (CAB Abstracts and Agricola).

    • CAB Abstracts [via OvidSP]  
        
        Icon
      FARMED or DOMESTICATED ANIMALS. Citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 9.0 million records. {RG 12/13/13}
      CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted *below* the UC-eLinks button). Currently, only Internet Explorer, Chrome & Safari loads these PDFs.
      Coverage: 1910-present
      CAB Abstracts Overview
      Database Guide[OvidSP]
      Saved Searches/Alerts/Automatic Updating Service
    • PsycINFO [via Proquest]  
        
        Icon
      PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.
      Coverage: 1840-present
      PsycINFO Lib Guide [ProQuest]
      Setting up Alerts

    UC-eLinks

    • UC-eLinks
      Brought to you by UC libraries! UC-eLinks helps to link you to *choices* to find the item(s) you are interested in. UC-eLinks appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of getting to online articles (if licensed) or to information about which print issues of a journal we own. If we do not own a journal or book, you can use the UC-eLinks service to Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library -- often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

    EndNote

    • EndNote Instructional Webpage
      Author: UC Davis Libraries

      EndNote, licensed for all UCD full-time students, faculty, researchers and staff, is a bibliographic reference manager which enables citations to be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals.
    • EndNote Intro for BioAg Researchers [Library Guide]  
        
      Author: Ruth Gustafson

      This webpage is the step-by-step guide for the bi-monthly in-person EndNote Intro course taught in Shields Library.

    Peer-Reviewed Journal Databases

    Peer Review

    A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality -- by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor -- before being accepted for publication.

    ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO and PAIS) include a checkbox to limit to "Peer Reviewed" articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black symbol indicating the publication is "Refereed".

    • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory  
        
        Icon
      The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

      NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich's provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

    Images

    • Animal Science Image Gallery
      Author: USDA National Agricultural Library & American Society of Animal Science
      The Animal Science Image Gallery began as a partnership between the Animal Science Education Consortium (fifteen colleges and universities in the northeast and mid-Atlantic states) and the National Agriculture Library (NAL), funded (2003-2007) by a USDA Higher Education Challenge Grant. {RG 12/16/13}
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip