Last Updated: Sep 15, 2016
- Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa
CODESRIA has, over the past 35 years established itself as the leading scholarly publisher in the social sciences on the African continent, with 90 per cent of what it publishes fed directly by the research and activities it sponsors among various social research networks in universities and research institutes throughout the continent and increasingly in the diaspora.
This guide merges resources on African American Studies and African Area Studies. Be careful to read the scope of each resource to be sure it fits your information need. Note also that some of the best databases for researching African American Studies issues are wide interdisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities.
- Black Studies Center [via Proquest]
Black Studies Center brings together historical and current material for research projects on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases including the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, The International Index to Black Periodicals, and Newspapers, including the full text backfile of the Afro-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender from 1910-1975.
Related: A fuller description of the Black Studies Center's scopeHelp with Black Studies Center
- Africa-Wide Information [via EBSCO]
Africa-Wide Information (formerly Africa Wide NiPAD combines databases to form a multidisciplinary aggregation of sources offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Includes over 2.4 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century. The advanced search allows the research to search all the collected datasets or focus on particular sets.
- African Studies Abstracts Online
ASA (African Studies Abstracts) Online succeeds the printed abstracts journal of the African Studies Centre Leiden, published since 1968, first as Documentatieblad, then as African Studies Abstracts (1994-2002). It provides a quarterly overview of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities available in the African Studies Centre library in Leiden, NL.
AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research. The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature) and African Women's literature (African Women). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa). In June 2012 two other bibliographies have been added, on Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa compiled by Paul Schrijver, and on Kenya Coast compiled by Jan Hoorweg.
- Current Bibliography on African Affairs
A Current Bibliography on African Affairs (CBA) is compiled as a quarterly guide for study and research in the field of African Studies and related subjects. It presents a thoughtful selection of references to a considerable diversity of materials, not only in subject and geographical selection, but also to point the user toward an increasing range of resources focusing on a sociotechnical approach to African affairs. 1968-
- Ethnic Newswatch [via ProQuest]
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States.
- Electronic Journal of Africana Bibliography (EJAB)
Online journal of bibliographies. Coverage includes any aspect of Africa, its peoples, their homes, cities, towns, districts, states, countries, regions, including social, economic sustainable development, creative literature, the arts, and the Diaspora.
- America: History and Life [via EBSCO]
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on American and Canadian history, including ethnic history and relations, from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals published worldwide.
- Historical Abstracts [via EBSCO]
Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.
- Sociological Abstracts [via Proquest]
Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
- Social Science Citation Index [via Web of Knowledge]
The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It is particularly suited to trace citations to authors and articles across publications. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Related: Online tutorial
For help in using the Web of Knowledge Citation indexes.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [via Proquest]
The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports.
- Women's Studies International [via EBSCO]
An interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.
Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
- MLA International Bibliography [via Proquest]
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
Related: Instructions on downloading filters and importing citations using EndnoteMLA Directory of PeriodicalsQuick Reference Card
- Art Full Text [via EBSCO]
ART FULL TEXT is being REPLACED by ART SOURCE which contains all records from Art Full Text and Art Index in addition to significant new content.