This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "ABI 50A: Animal Biology Lab | Fall 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

ABI 50A: Animal Biology Lab | Fall 2016  

Last Updated: Oct 13, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/ABI50A Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Make an Appointment
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

UC Davis Animal-Related Library Collections

Rachel Vannette rlvannette@ucdavis.edu  &  Bob Kimsey — rbkimsey@ucdavis.edu

Use the resources on this guide to find relevant sources for your ABI scientific report.

      

    Research Help

    • BioAg Consultation Desk [CLOSED DOWN as of Jan 2015]
      The BioAg Reference Desk located on the 3rd Floor of Shields Library is closed down. BioAgEnvi sciences librarians are still located on the 3rd floor of Shields in Room 388 at lower left of this floor map. Options to seek assistance now are:
      1) book an appointment with your librarian instructor
      OR
      3) email your subject specialist librarian directly
      OR
      4) email the list of all BioAgEnvi sciences librarians at lib-bioagquestions@ad3.ucdavis.edu
    • Library Research Aids: How Do I...? Guides
      These guides include Choose a Research Topic, 5 Steps to Better Library Research, Find a Book, and more.

    Evaluate Your Sources

    Accuracy
    Does the author cite references to support her/his thesis? Are the references also from credible sources?
    Author
    Who produced the information? What can you find about the author's credentials?
    Objectivity
    Is the content presented as fact or speculation? What is the source's purpose?
    Timeframe
    When was the source written/created? Is the information still relevant?
        

      Definitions

      Abstract
      A brief summary of the main points in a book, article or other work.
      Bibliography
      A list of works cited at the end of an article, book or other information source.
      Catalog
      A list of records that represent the holdings of a library.
      Database
      An organized, searchable collection of information, often related to a specific subject area. One of the primary tools for locating articles by topic. Most databases available through the library are licensed resources with access restrictions.
      Peer Review
      A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor before being accepted for publication.
      Scholarly Journal
      A publication containing articles that have undergone peer review, a process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor before being accepted for publication.
          

        Search for Books

        The UCD Libraries selectively buy materials on writing in the sciences. Browsable subject headings that bring up these types of publications include: Communication in the environmental sciences; Environmental literature -- Authorship ; Ecology -- Authorship; Natural history literature -- Authorship; Communication of technical information; Report writing ; Technical writing.   Locate books on fish parasites by BROWSING the subject heading list online using Fishes -- parasites.  
         
        NOTE: Books from Carlson Health Sciences Library can be delivered to SHields Library by clicking on the library name link on the far right of a title browse list and then look to the far left to click on the REQUEST link.  Your UCD login/Kerboros passphrase is used to REQUEST the item.
        • UC Davis Library Catalog  
            
          Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.
        • Understanding the Call Numbers
          Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

          Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM -- National Library of Medicine -- classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with the following guide.

          Date: 2004

        Resources for Pollinator Project Reports

        • How to Do Ecology [via EBSCOHost]  
            
            Icon
          Authors: Rick Karban, Ian Pearse and Mikaela Huntzinger Date: 2014
          General reference for conducting research in ecology. From publisher description: "provides nuts-and-bolts advice on organizing and conducting a successful research program. ... explains how to choose a research question and answer it through manipulative experiments and systematic observations. ... provides strategies for working with other people, including professors and collaborators. It suggests effective ways to communicate your findings in the form of journal articles, oral presentations, posters, and grant and research proposals. The book also includes ideas to help you identify your goals, organize a season of fieldwork, and deal with negative results. This second edition ... features new sections on conducting and analyzing observational surveys, job hunting, and becoming a more creative researcher, as well as updated sections on statistical analyses."
        • Field Guide to the Common Bees of California [via EBSCOHost]  
            
            Icon
          Author: Gretchen LeBuhn Date: 2013
          From Publisher description: " ... natural history guidebook provides a thorough overview of native and honey bee biology and offers tools for identifying the most common bees of California and the Western United States. Full-color illustrations introduce readers to more than 30 genera of native bees, noting each one's needs and habits and placing them in their wider context. The author highlights bees'ties to our own lives, the food we eat, and the habitat we provide, and suggests ways to support bees in our own backyards. In addition to helping readers understand and distinguish among major groups of bees, this guide reveals how bees are an essential part of healthy ecosystem and how many plants, including important crop plants, depend on the pollination they provide. As growing evidence points to declining bee populations, this book offers critical information about the bond between plants and pollinators, and between humans and nature."
        • The Bee : A Natural History [via EBL]  
            
            Icon
          Date: 2014
          Publisher description: "In this richly illustrated natural history of the bee, Noah Wilson-Rich and his team of bee experts provide a window into the vitally important role that bees play in the life of our planet. Earth is home to more than 20,000 bee species, from fluorescent-colored orchid bees and sweat bees to flower-nesting squash bees and leaf-cutter bees. This book takes an incomparable look at this astounding diversity, blending an engaging narrative with practical, hands-on discussions of such topics as beekeeping and bee health. It explores our relationship with the bee over evolutionary time, delving into how it came to be, where it stands today, and what the future holds for humanity and bees alike. ... section on beekeeping and handy go-to guides to the identification, prevention, and treatment of honey bee diseases. Covers bee evolution, ecology, genetics, and physiology. Includes a directory of notable bee species."
        • Pollination and Floral Ecology [via Project Muse]  
            
            Icon
          Author: Pat Willmer Date: 2011
          Publisher description: " ... the most comprehensive single-volume reference to all aspects of pollination biology--and the first fully up-to-date resource of its kind to appear in decades. This beautifully illustrated book describes how flowers use colors, shapes, and scents to advertise themselves; how they offer pollen and nectar as rewards; and how they share complex interactions with beetles, birds, bats, bees, and other creatures. The ecology of these interactions is covered in depth, including the timing and patterning of flowering, competition among flowering plants to attract certain visitors and deter others, and the many ways plants and animals can cheat each other. ... Describes flower advertising features and rewards, foraging and learning by flower-visiting animals, behaviors of generalist and specialist pollinators. ... Examines the ecology and evolution of animal-flower interactions, from the molecular to macro-evolutionary scale."
        • Animal Diversity Web  
            
          Author: Museum of Zoology, University of Michigan

          "Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology ..."

          Animal Diversity Web has
          •Thousands of species accounts about individual animal species. These may include text, pictures of living animals, photographs and movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds. Students write the text of these accounts and we cannot guarantee their accuracy.
          •Descriptions of taxa above the species level, especially phyla, classes, orders and families. Hundreds of hyperlinked pages and images illustrate the traits and general biology of these groups. Professional biologists prepare these pieces, for the most part.

        Resources for Fish Project Reports

        • FishBase: A Global Information System on Fishes
          Relational database on fish from around the world including information on: taxonomy, synonym tables, average sizes and weights, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, diagnosis, biology, Red list status, life history, reproduction, ecology, genetics, illustrations, photographs and much more. Developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC). {RG 12/10/13}
        • Centrarchid Fishes -- Wiley Online Library  
            
            Icon
          Centrarchids are ecologically and commercially extremely important, including species such as Largemouth Bass and Bluegill Contains vital and commercially important information for fisheries managers An essential reference source for graduate students and academics Covers an important multi-billion dollar industry across many countries.
        • Fish Parasites -- CAB eBooks collection  
            
            Icon
          Date: 2012
          This book covers protozoa and metazoan parasites that cause disease and mortality in economically important fishes. All chapters are written by scientists who have considerable experience and expertise on the parasites. The selection of pathogens for inclusion in the book are made by the editors, and it is based on mumerous criteria of aquacultural importance. The book is targetted towards research scientists in aquaculture industry and universities, fish health consultants, fish health specialists, students, veterinarians, aquaculturists and laboratory managers.
        • Leeches, lice and lampreys: a natural history of skin and gill parasites of fishes [Print Springer book]  
            
          Date: 2004
          Many different kinds of animals have adopted a parasitic life style on the skin and gills of freshwater fishes. This book explores the remarkable biology of these animals. It considers for each group of parasites: how they find their hosts, how they attach, feed and reproduce, the damage they inflict and how the host's immune system retaliates.
        • Parasites of North American freshwater fishes [Print Comstock book]  
            
          Date: 1999
          "This thoroughly revised and updated edition of a classic reference work is the definitive guide to the identification of the parasites of freshwater fishes of North America." "The book provides information on public health concerns about fish parasites, the methods used to examine fish for parasites, and those parasites found only in very selective organs or tissues. It lists the known species of each genus, along with reference citations that enable readers to find literature pertinent to species identification, life cycles, and in some cases, control."--Jacket

        Subject Guides

        • Subject Guides
          Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search for information on your topic.

        UC-eLinks

        • UC-eLinks
          Brought to you by UC libraries! UC-eLinks helps to link you to *choices* to find the item(s) you are interested in. UC-eLinks appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of getting to online articles (if licensed) or to information about which print issues of a journal we own. If we do not own a journal or book, you can use the UC-eLinks service to Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library -- often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

        Journal Ranking

        Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties. NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution.

        • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  
            
            Icon
          Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
          Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
          Information for New JCR Users
          Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
          Using JCR

        Peer-Reviewed Journal Databases

        Peer Review

        A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality -- by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor -- before being accepted for publication.

        ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO and PAIS) include a checkbox to limit to "Peer Reviewed" articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black symbol indicating the publication is "Refereed".

        • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory  
            
            Icon
          The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

          NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich's provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

        Search for Articles

        These subject databases may be demonstrated or discussed at the library session.
        • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) [via ProQuest]  
            
            Icon
          UCD's *most* important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
          Coverage: varies by subfile; 1971-present;earlier for selected core titles
          ASFA Lib Guide [ProQuest]
          Setting up Alerts
        • BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]  
            
            Icon
          More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
          Coverage: 1926-present
          Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews, 2010
          Online BIOSIS information
          Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
        • Zoological Record [via ProQuest]  
            
            Icon
          WILDLIFE. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies. Backfile for 1864-1977 added April 2007.
          Coverage: 1864-present [1864-1977 backfile added]
          Setting up Alerts
          Zoological Record's 150th anniversary
          Zoological Record information
        • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM) [via ProQuest]  
            
            Icon
          This database has been replaced by Agricultural & Environmental Science Database from ProQuest.
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip