This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "ABI 187: Animal Biology Seminar | Winter 2017" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

ABI 187: Animal Biology Seminar | Winter 2017  

Last Updated: Jan 23, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/ABI187 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Make an Appointment
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

UC Davis Animal-Related Library Collections

Bob Kimsey — rbkimsey@ucdavis.edu

UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system. The UCD libraries support the UCD departments of:  Animal Science (the only Ag Animal program in the UC); Entomology & Nematology; Evolution & Ecology; Wildlife, Fish & Conservation Biology; as well as the only School of Veterinary Medicine in the University of California. Graduate level collections also support the Center for Population Biology, California National Primate Research Center, and graduate programs in Animal Behavior, Animal Biology, Avian Sciences, and Integrated Pest Management. Note also that there are many primate researchers in the Evolutional Wing of the Department of
Anthropology.

 

      

    Research Help

    Animal Biology Library Collections

    The BioAg Sciences Ref Dept collects materials to support ALL animal-related research with the exception of Veterinary Medicine. Disciplines supported at BioAg include animal behavior, animal anatomy & physiology, animal ecology, animal nutrition, animal taxonomy & systematics. Resources in BioAg tend to be located in four call number areas on the 3rd floor of Shields Library: QL - Zoology ; SF -- Animal Agriculture ; SH -- Fisheries & Aquaculture ; SK - Wildlife and Hunting. Marine Biology materials may additionally be located on the 2nd floor Shields in the GC area.

    The Carlson Health Sciences library collects materials to support VetMed which are classed in the SF area. NOTE: This is the only VetMed library collection in the UC system.

    Career Information

    The U.S. Government Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes a comprehensive resource on Career opportunities and statistics titled Occupational Outlook Handbook.   See the link below.

    Shields and Carlson Health Sciences libraries have selected print and online resources for those interested in animal-related careers.   See the Library Catalogs box below this one for some search tips.

    • Occupational Outlook Handbook [Bureau of Labor Statistics]
      "The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 334 occupational profiles covering about 84 percent of the jobs in the economy.

      The OOH is broken up into clusters of similar occupations ... to find an occupation, browse the occupation groups ... on the left-hand side of the homepage, or use the A-Z Index if you know the specific occupation. [Also] ... search for occupations by using the selector drop-down menus on the OOH homepage. Select by pay range, entry-level education, on-the-job training, projected number of new jobs, or projected growth rate. [For a] ... specific occupation you are interested in, you may enter a job title into the “Search Handbook” box at the top."
      OOH FAQs

    Library Catalogs

    Note that the UCD Library has many books on proposal writing. Browse the subject heading PROPOSAL WRITING IN RESEARCH to see the various resources.

    For locating career information: !) You may BROWSE by a discipline and look for the subheading "vocational guidance" e.g. agriculture -- vocational guidance ; ecology -- vocational guidance ; environmental sciences -- vocational guidance ; medicine -- vocational guidance ; psychology -- vocational guidance ; science -- vocational guidance ; veterinary medicine -- vocational guidance . 

    2) For some areas you can combine subject keywords such as, for animal-related careers  KEYWORD Subject Words "animal vocational" which brings up a variety of titles.

     

    • UC Davis Library Catalog  
        
      Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

    E-book Collections

    • CAB eBooks [via CAB Direct]  
        
        Icon
      FARMED OR DOMESTICATED ANIMALS. CABI ebooks now provides access to over 532 agricultural titles (more than 9,000 individual chapters). The archives from 2000-2007 includes 400+ titles (with over 6,500 individual chapters). This collection is divided into six core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal and Veterinary Sciences; Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences; Plant Sciences; Environmental Sciences; and Leisure and Tourism.

      PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by CABI but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package.
      Coverage: 2000-present
      Scroll down to see CABI's ebook coverage in the various eBooks packages (Front file & backfile packages)
    • Veterinary Selected Ebooks (from Veterinary Resources LibGuide)  
        
      Selected titles and collections such as VETnetBASE. "... modern veterinary medicine deals with the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of disease, disorder, and injury in animals. From cardiovascular disease and dermatology to urological disorders and wildlife medicine, VETnetBASE provides information on the fundamental and emerging issues in this field. The eBooks in this collection help veterinarians promote the health and welfare of companion animals, farm animals, horses, exotic animals, and wildlife. Many of the titles feature visual case-based learning material. Subject Areas included are: Anatomy, Ophthalmology, and Radiology; Equine; Exotics; Farm Animal; and
      Small Animal.
    • Springer eBooks Package  
        
        Icon
      Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. Coverage: 2005-2017

    Handbooks & Tables

    • Zoology Online  Icon
      Author: Editor-in-Chief: Schmidt-Rhaesa, Andreas
      RESEARCH level handbook with GERMAN as first language. Online continuously updated version of De Gruyter's Handbook of Zoology covering over 100 years of zoological research. Includes original Handbook material (> 28,000 pages) reordered along taxonomic (instead of bibliographical) categories. {RG 12/13/13}

      PLEASE NOTE: publication language of the core historical volumes is German. ENGLISH language sections are currently under the Browseable section "Ahead of Print" but are slowly being integrated into the main volumes below.

      Browseable volumes are organized in 8 larger volume collections as follows:

      •Protozoa, Porifera, Colenteratea, Mesozoa (Vol. 1)
      •Vermes Amera (Vol. 2)
      •Arthropoda ex. Insecta (Vol. 3)
      •Arthropoda: Insecta (Vol. 4)
      •Solenogastres, Mollusca, Echinoderma (Vol. 5)
      •Pisces/Amphibia (Vol. 6)
      •Reptilia, Aves (Vol. 7)
      •Mammalia (Vol. 8)

    • FishBase: A Global Information System on Fishes
      Relational database on fish from around the world including information on: taxonomy, synonym tables, average sizes and weights, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, diagnosis, biology, Red list status, life history, reproduction, ecology, genetics, illustrations, photographs and much more. Developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC). {RG 12/10/13}

    Subject Guides

    • Subject Guides
      Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search for information on your topic.

    Journal Ranking

    Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties. NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution.

    • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  
        
        Icon
      Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
      Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
      Information for New JCR Users
      Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
      Using JCR

    Peer-Reviewed Journal Databases

    Peer Review

    A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality -- by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor -- before being accepted for publication.

    ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO and PAIS) include a checkbox to limit to "Peer Reviewed" articles or some (Zoological Record) have checkboxes for "Scholarly Journals". For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black symbol indicating the publication is "Refereed".

    • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory  
        
        Icon
      The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

      NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich's provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

    Databases

    Library literature databases for Animal Biology range from databases strictly about primates (PrimateLit), to very broad databases which include animal behavior research (PsycINFO & BIOSIS Previews), to specialized databases concerning wildlife (Zoological Record and Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide), to agriculture databases with domesticated animal information (CAB Abstracts and Agricola).

    Tracking a mentor down? In addition to searching by author name in the databases below, perhaps you are just looking generally for a UCD mentor, say who does research with birds. In BIOSIS or CAB Abstracts or Zoological Record, you should do a taxonomic search using the database thesaurus for taxonomic terms (you may need to use BIRDS or AVES ...). Then you can cross this with either an ADDRESS or INSTITUTION field search specifying the researcher is from UCD. Best search in this type of field is by zip code, 95616 but ask your subject librarian for additional tips! Be aware that some of the UCD authors found might be post-doc researchers or graduate students -- you can check their names against the UCD campus online directory to see if they are still at UC Davis.

    UC-eLinks

    • UC-eLinks
      Brought to you by UC libraries! UC-eLinks helps to link you to *choices* to find the item(s) you are interested in. UC-eLinks appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of getting to online articles (if licensed) or to information about which print issues of a journal we own. If we do not own a journal or book, you can use the UC-eLinks service to Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library -- often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

    EndNote

    • EndNote Instructional Webpage
      Author: UC Davis Libraries

      EndNote, licensed for all UCD full-time students, faculty, researchers and staff, is a bibliographic reference manager which enables citations to be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals.
    • EndNote Intro for BioAgEnvi Sciences Researchers [Course Guide]  
        
      Author: Ruth Gustafson

      This webpage is the step-by-step guide for the bi-monthly in-person EndNote Intro course taught in Shields Library.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip