This is the "Reference Resources" page of the "ABG 202: Animal Biology -- Grant Writing | Fall 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

ABG 202: Animal Biology -- Grant Writing | Fall 2016  

Last Updated: Sep 21, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/ABG202 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Reference Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarian Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Ruth Gustafson
Make an Appointment
Contact Info
Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences
Reference Librarian
Shields Library, 3rd Floor

Phone: (530) 752‑1883
ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

Animal Biology Library Collections

UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system. Animal biology research crosses over multiple departmental lines at UC Davis so library resources supporting not just the UCD Animal Biology Graduate Group but also the departments of Animal Science, Entomology, Evolution & Ecology, Nematology, Wildlife, Fish & Conservation Biology as well as School of Veterinary Medicine may be useful to animal biology researchers. In addition, there is cross-interest with the graduate level collections supporting the Center for Population Biology, and graduate programs in Animal Behavior, Avian Sciences, and Integrated Pest Management.

  • Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences, Shields Library
    The BioAgEnvi Sciences print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library. Some collections in the environmental sciences are located on the 2nd floor in the G classification areas.
  • Health Sciences Libraries Collections
    The Carlson Health Sciences Library is near the SouthWest corner of the UC Davis campus and the Blaisdell Medical Library is in Sacramento at the UCD Medical Center.
  • Government Information Collection [UC Davis]  
      
    The UC Davis Library is a federal and state depository library with extensive historical and current collections in print, microform and electronic formats. We collect extensively from major international, intergovernmental organizations, selectively from local jurisdictions, and on a very limited basis from foreign governments. Agriculture, forestry, the environment and ecology are areas of strength. We collect comprehensively from the U.S. Congress and California Legislature, along with federal and state laws and regulations. The Library's collection of technical report literature is extensive. We emphasize statistical data in all collecting areas. Most government documents and maps are listed in the Harvest UC Davis Library Catalog and the UC-wide MELVYL Catalog. Some materials, such as technical reports and historical documents, may require specialized indexes or assistance from government information librarians.
  • UC Davis Center for Animal Alternatives Information
    The UC Davis Center for Animal Alternatives places special emphasis on disseminating up-to-date information concerning animal alternatives through every level of public and private education. It also seeks to provide investigators who use animals with information on the most current methods for improving all aspects of animal care during their work.

    Useful sections include: Alternatives Searching Tools and Guides; and Topic-Specific Searches {RG 12/16/13}

Library Catalogs

The UCD Libraries selectively buy materials on grant writing in the sciences and in general. Browsable subject headings for institutions which award grants include: Endowments -- Directories ; Scholarships -- Directories; Charitable uses, trusts, and foundations etc.   For resources on writing styles and general writing for grants use the subject headings:  Proposal writing for grants ; Proposal writing in biology ; Proposal writing in medicine ; Proposal writing in research etc.

NOTE: Books that continually update on funders of grants may be found in the BioAg Reference collection, 3rd floor Shields.

  • UC Davis Library Catalog  
      
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

Grantseeking Resources

Print Grantseeking resources

There are three principle sources for finding grants/scholarships for students:

I. UCD Library print directories/handbooks -- often in Reference collections (may cover all disciplines or be discipline-based) II. subscriptions to services (e.g. "COS Pivot Community of Science") [See next resource just below] III. web sites [See grantseeking guides section of course guide]

I. PRINT LIBRARY REFERENCE RESOURCES -- BioAg Reference collection, 3rd floor Shields Library

The Foundation Center is the primary national clearinghouse on grant-making by private, charitable, community and corporate foundations.

Some titles are specifically for grants for individuals. The following titles are in the BioAg Reference collection so cannot be checked out but photocopies can be made from it. When in the Harvest Catalog and bring up these records, notice all of the linkable subject headings below that may be useful to find additional print tools, such as "Endowments -- United States -- Directories".

1) Foundation grants to individuals / Phyllis Edelson, editor. Edition 19th ed. Published [New York] : Foundation Center, c2010. Call no. Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference LB2336 .F598 2010 Lib Use Only

Contents Introduction -- Federal laws and grants to individuals -- Scholarships and grants to individuals : where to find them -- Glossary -- Abbreviations -- Resources for individual grantseekers : a bibliography -- Resources of the Foundation Center -- Foundation Center cooperating collections -- Descriptive directory -- Appendix -- Indexes. Subject Endowments -- United States -- Directories. Learning and scholarship -- United States -- Directories. Student loans -- United States -- Directories. Endowments -- Directories. Scholarships -- Directories. Student loans -- Directories. Charitable uses, trusts, and foundations.

2) Environmental grantmaking foundations : directory. Rochester, NY : Environmental Data Research Institute, c1992- UCD Shields GE80.E58 Bio/Ag Reference 2005. (Comes out about every 10 yrs)

3) Peterson's scholarships, grants & prizes 2011 /[Mark D. Snider, editor].. Lawrenceville, NJ : Peterson's, c2010. Bought by BioAg Ref but in UCD Shields H/SS Reference LB2337.4 .P475 2010

4) Annual register of grant support. New Providence [etc.] R.R. Bowker [etc.] UCD BioAg Reference Q180 U5 A15 2014 (latest issue), Current in SHIELDS

MORE PRINT GRANT RESOURCES at Humanities/Social Sciences Reference collection, 2nd floor Shields Library

5) The Grants register. Chicago : St. James Press, c1969- UCD Shields H/SS Reference LB2338 G75 latest edition 2014 [This has an European focus]

6) Directory of financial aids for women. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Reference Service Press, 1978-. UCD Shields H/SS Reference HQ1381 .S36 Current issue- 2012/2014

  • CoS Pivot (Community of Science)  Icon
    UCD Office of Research subscribes to the licensed CoS (Community of Science) Pivot tool and also lists some free web resources at this webpage.

Grantseeking Guides

  • Granting resources web guide
    Author: Michigan State University
    Michigan State University Library provides an excellent Web guide to Granting resources. The main body of the guide leads one to a variety of categories such as: Grants and Related Resources Blog; Grants for Nonprofits (By Subject Categories); Grants for Individuals (By Academic Level, Population Group, and Subject); Funding for Business or Economic Development; Federal Funding Tools and Links; and National Grant Makers.
  • Grantwriting Links and Resources [UC Davis]
    Author: Office of the Vice Provost - Academic Affairs
    The UC Davis Office of Vice Provost--Academic Affairs and Professor Suad Joseph of the Department of Anthropology and Program in Women and Gender Studies have provided this information on grantsmanship to assist UC Davis faculty with understanding the fundamental components of a proposal, networking with potential granting agencies, and learning about available resources.
  • Funding Opportunities [UC Davis]
    Author: Office of Research
    Provides categories on UCD specific funding opportunities and others as follows: Limited Submissions Program; Research Funding System (Open Opportunities); Customize Your Funding Search; International Funding Opportunities; UC Davis Funding Programs; and Interdisciplinary Frontiers Program
  • Foundation Center website
    The Foundation Center does have *selected* resources free on the web. You can locate foundations by state, or ranked by assets and total giving.

Data Management Plans for Grants

  • Data Services at the UC Davis University Library  
      
    Details the new Data Management Program at UC Davis University Library including sections on Data Managment Plans, data sharing, and data archiving.
  • DMPTool  
      
      Icon
    Author: UC Curation Center (UC3)
    Build your Data Management Plan using the DMPTool which provides a guide for drafting the document that you must submit with your grant application. Users of the DMPTool can view sample plans, preview funder requirements, and view the latest changes to their plans.

    The tool supports data management plans and funder requirements across the disciplines and includes multiple agency requirements. Templates for funders of BioAg and EnviSci interest include: Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative, Institute of Museum and Library Services, National Institutes of Health, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, NSF-AGS: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, NSF-BIO: Biological Sciences (2013- ), NSF-CHE: Chemistry Division, NSF-DMR: Materials Research, NSF-EAR: Earth Sciences, NSF-EFRI: Emerging Frontiers in Reseach and Innovation, NSF-ENG: Engineering, and NSF-GEN: Generic.
  • EZID
    Author: UC Curation Center (UC3)

    Makes data easy to discover and cite.

    Use EZID to: create identifiers for anything, texts, data, bones, terms, etc.; store citation metadata for identifiers in a variety of formats; and update current URL locations so citation links are never broken.

    EZID's Off Site programming interface allows for automated operation at scale where you can choose from a variety of persistent identifiers, including ARKs and DataCite DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers).

  • Merritt  Icon
    Author: UC Curation Center (UC3)

    Archive and preserve your research. Merritt is a UC repository for all subjects.

    Merritt is a new cost-effective repository service from the University of California Curation Center (UC3) that lets the UC community manage, archive, and share its valuable digital content. Merritt features: an easy-to-use interface for deposit and update; access via persistent URLs; tools for long-term management; and permanent storage.

  • Science and Engineering Data Repositories
    Aside from the UC Merritt, there are many subject oriented data repositories available for archaeology to space science data. This shortlist of S&E data repositories covers only large-scale, authoritative repositories.

    ALSO check appropriate UCD Library BioAg Subject Guides at http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/ul/research/subjects/?list=bioag for the category "Datasets, Data Series, Data Repositories, Data Systems".

  • Data Management [LibGuide]
    Detailed resource guide for data management plans, data sharing and data archiving.
  • Webinar Series
    Author: UC Curation Center (UC3)

    The UC Curation Center archives a wide variety of data management related webinars, with average run time from 30-60 minutes.

Subject Guides

  • Subject Guides
    Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search for information on your topic.

EndNote

  • EndNote Instructional Webpage
    Author: UC Davis Libraries

    EndNote, licensed for all UCD full-time students, faculty, researchers and staff, is a bibliographic reference manager which enables citations to be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals.
  • EndNote Intro for BioAgEnvi Sciences Researchers [Library Guide]  
      
    Author: Ruth Gustafson

    This webpage is the step-by-step guide for the bi-monthly in-person EndNote Intro course taught in Shields Library.

UC-eLinks

  • UC-eLinks
    Brought to you by UC libraries! UC-eLinks helps to link you to *choices* to find the item(s) you are interested in. UC-eLinks appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of getting to online articles (if licensed) or to information about which print issues of a journal we own. If we do not own a journal or book, you can use the UC-eLinks service to Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library -- often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

Databases

Library subject bibliographic databases are a rich resource for conducting your literature reviews.  Any of the following databases may be the primary resource for a particular Animal Biology research area but often 3-4 databases may be needed to conduct the most comprehensive literature review.

Journal Ranking

Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties. NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution.

  • Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  
      
      Icon
    Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
    Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
    Information for New JCR Users
    Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
    Using JCR

Government Documents and Large-scale Digital Collections

  • NTRL - National Technical Reports Library  
      
      Icon
    NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) within the Department of Commerce. NTRL provides access to government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 3 million reports with links to over 800,000 full-text reports. 1964 to present
  • Document Library [California Department of Fish and Wildlife]
    The California Department of Fish & Wildlife (DFW) Document Library is an online repository of thousands of DFG related documents from California agencies, contractors, and related non-governmental organizations. In addition to advanced searching for title, author, subject, keywords, and date ranges, all documents in the DFG Document Library are organized by Categories. "Browse By Category" is a convenient way to see all available groupings and learn which DFG function or program is responsible for each category. You may also view a complete list of DFG documents and then link directly to that program's web page. The majority of documents digitized are from the 2000s with the largest collection of documents on "California Wildlife Habitat Relationships". NOTE: CA DFG (Department of Fish and Game) changed to CA DFW (Department of Fish and Wildlife) in January 2013. {RG 12/11/13}
  • Sea Grant Digital Library [via National Sea Grant Library]  
      
    Digital repository on coastal and marine topics with electronic versions of Sea Grant Publications under ten categories: coastal hazards; diving safety; education; responsible aquaculture; global warming; HACCP (FDA Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point programs); harmful algae; marine careers; Sea Grant history; and seafood safety/foodborne illnesses. Additional pre-designed workforms facilitate online searching of the entire Sea Grant database for information on either print or online Sea Grant publications on marinas, aquaculture, habitat restoration or education.
  • Aquatic Commons
    Author: IAMSLIC (International Association of Aquatic and Marine Science Libraries and Information Centers)
    "The Aquatic Commons is a thematic digital repository covering the natural marine, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments . It includes all aspects of the science, technology, management and conservation of these environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological and legal aspects. It is complementary to OceanDocs, which is supported by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) specifically to collect, preserve and facilitate access to all research output from members of their Ocean Data and Information Networks (ODINS). The records of both repositories are harvested by Avano which aggregates records from marine and aquatic repositories around the World." {RG 12/11/13}
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library
    The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries worldwide that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) with access provided to texts "with information on over a 150 million species names." {RG 12/11/13}
    Biodiversity Heritage Library Tutorials
  • HathiTrust
    This is a collection of books digitized by major US research libraries. Although there is significant overlap with Google books, this site has a much more effective and sophisticated search interface. Like Google books, some of the scanned titles are not actually viewable. The titles in this collection (both the full view and restricted ones)are cataloged in Melvyl.

E-book Collections

  • CAB eBooks [via CAB Direct]  
      
      Icon
    FARMED OR DOMESTICATED ANIMALS. CABI ebooks now provides access to over 532 agricultural titles (more than 9,000 individual chapters). The archives from 2000-2007 includes 400+ titles (with over 6,500 individual chapters). This collection is divided into six core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal and Veterinary Sciences; Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences; Plant Sciences; Environmental Sciences; and Leisure and Tourism.

    PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by CABI but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package.
    Coverage: 2000-present
    Scroll down to see CABI's ebook coverage in the various eBooks packages (Front file & backfile packages)
  • Electronic books in the Biological and Health Sciences  
      
    Author: [Compiled by the UCD Carlson Health Sciences Library]
    Subject listing of electronic books (handbooks, textbooks, guides) in basic biological and related health sciences disciplines/specialties and subdisciplines/subspecialties. Includes online books in general biology, biochemistry, endrocrinology & metabolism, genetics, microbiology & virology, molecular biology, neurology, nutrition, physiology, toxicology and veterinary medicine. All books are searchable at chapter-level.
  • Springer eBooks Package  
      
      Icon
    Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. Coverage: 2005-2017
  • Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection  
      
      Icon
    NOTE: Interface does not separate ebooks from Wiley ejournals.

    Over 2,000 books with 2011-2016 publication dates. The Wiley ebook license comes with broad and favorable rights for scien ptific, scholarly and educational uses. The collection serves wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Wiley collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. The 2015 books continue to be added to the collection throughout the year as they are published simultaneously in both online and print.
    Coverage: 2011-2016
  • CRCnetBASE [via CRC Press] (full text books)  
      
      Icon
    Full-text searchable database collection of more than 1500 handbooks, textbooks and manuals in biomedical science, chemistry, environmental sciences, food science, forensic science, math, and statistics. The full database can be searched, or any of the licensed subsets. The following TEN packages are subscribed by the University of California/UC Davis libraries and are also listed separately under their respective Subject Guides: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE

Protocol Tools

  • Current Protocols Series [Wiley]  
      
      Icon
    Covers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work "Current Protocols in Molecular Biology" with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following FIVE protocol titles: "Chemical Biology", "Essential Laboratory Techniques", "Magnetic Resonance Imaging", "Plant Biology" (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and "Stem Cell Biology".
    Updates: Quarterly or more frequently
  • Springer Protocols  
      
      Icon
    Springer Protocols contains more than 34,000 (as of September 2014) molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols, mostly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.
    Coverage: 1980-present
    Ten-page User Guide
  • Cold Spring Harbor Protocols  Icon
    A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. Coverage: 2006-present {RG 12/11/13}
    Search Help
  • Methods in Enzymology [Science Direct -- Elsevier]  
      
      Icon
    Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. As of 2017, videos are selectively being added to accompany the written methods. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 500 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats.
  • Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)  
      
      Icon
    Author: MYJoVE Corporation
    Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.
    July 2014: JoVE Science Education section in process for licensing {still not accessible September 2014}
    Coverage: Access currently to JoVE General section and all journal subsections
    Date: 2006- (General) 2013- (subsections)
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip